Where's you facebook BobsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #internet7 years ago

For people who consider leaving Facebook: he're some thorough and reasonable advice. It also has a thing that I think I have felt more and more lately, an optimism for the internet - and idea that the mainstream second (or is it third?) wave of internet-services is about to be abandoned for more individualist choices - that the digital Walmart, where Facebook, Spotify and Amazon are tending your every need... as long as they are within the feed, the pop-playlist, and the recommended books'n'goods, is getting old.

Here's the article:

https://bobstechsite.com/bob-wheres-your-facebook-gone/

And here is Bob who wrote it:

Sort:  

It is getting increasingly difficult to abandon the tech giants entirely every year.

Those giants like Facebook, Google, Apple and Amazon are actively developing new products to accommodate more of your everyday needs.

Google for an example already controls your email, your website data, your internet browsing behavior and will soon be regulating things like the temperature in you home. That is way more scary than one might think.
Imagine a situation where Google for some reason kicks you out of their system. It could be because they deem your behavior somehow unacceptable. Then you would not be able to contact your friends anylonger, you would not be able to compete with your competitors online because you would no longer possess the required data and your home would be freezing cold.

I do see many arguments against big tech corporations!

ronni

Yes, indeed it seems to be impossible for ordinary people!? But I quit it all and am having a fine time, Actually finer time on the internet without the big corps.

I haven't deactivated my Facebook account yet,but I haven't logged in for quite a long while now. I agree on most of his points.

It's a while back now, but I did the same. Stopped using it to see if the heaven would fall down. I remember feeling a bit shaky and nervous when I pressed the button... and then nothing happened - the bold step seemed rather bland after a day :) But I think I have had a much richer internet-life afterwards because I had to seek out the things and connections I wanted myself.

Good post , Thank you so much for infomation

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 60968.19
ETH 2367.91
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56