Pricking the Filter Bubble

in #internet6 years ago


Recommended videos. Tailored newsfeeds. Personalized search results. Know it or not, we are increasingly living in filter bubbles that are being determined by algorithms we know nothing about. Worse than that, we are increasingly retreating into the online echo chamber bubbles of our own making. So where is this all heading and how can we steer ourselves away from this precipice? Join James for this edition of The Corbett Report podcast to find out more.

SHOW NOTES AND MP3 AUDIO: https://www.corbettreport.com/filterbubble/


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

A large number of the #1 crap singles are written by the same person, Max Martin. He is the creator of most of the shit that passes for mainstream music these days.

Great video, it's important to show how these algorithms work. It's a form of control, it's about divide and conquer. I think it's important to understand how you operate, how you think and be aware of the programming that you knowingly or unknowingly subjugated yourself too. In a ever changing world which appears to have no meaning to most people, we tend to cling to things that we can justify. If you can't be self aware or conscious to the fact that one you are not your thoughts or your body. It'll be hard for you to deal with the inevitable rapid escalation of change that will come. (seemingly positive or negative) It will sound hippie dippie but going into nature and meditation are very important to take a step back and see things for they are. Feeling your own feet on the ground, in grass, sand, stone. It's important to stop your mind and just breathe. Everyone has access to their own truth it is often hard to hear when it's polluted with programs and negative emotions and frequencies.

I do realise there's a lot I don't know humility and passion are very important. I try to learn everyday and a challenge my beliefs. Being able to actually hear the people who you talk with everyday and try to understand them is important for this.

There is a book I recommend to help with this ever changing world Power vs Force by David Hawkins. It explains what your outlook on life and perception changes your reality. There will be people who read this sentence and immediately dismiss it. (That's a common tactic and it doesn't always help you) You heard that before right it can't possibly be true right?

Really think about how you think and feel. What is your perception? Why do you think that way? Could you possibly be wrong about that thought or feeling? How else could you see this situation? What would I need to experience, feel, witness to change this? What action can I take now to create positive change towards this?
Once you do this for yourself you can begin to see how others behave, think and feel.

Look at it like this is just a roadmap I'm trying out to see if I can make sense of the data.

While I support strongly what I think is your overall thesis - that natural objective reality is the best teacher - I note I disagree pretty strongly with at least one feature of the chart you post here.

Shame is not a negative. Shame is one of the best teachers of how we should behave, at least if it isn't imposed from without, but is how you feel about your own actions in retrospect. Shame is a kind of constructive criticism, and telling yourself to ignore shame is a terrible waste of the opportunity to improve your ability to act morally.

Ignore shame at your peril. Cherish it, and become a better person.

Loading...

James, you go on and on about it -- and that's fine, I like to listen to your thought-stream jags. What you are describing is like trying to pop the illusion of Maya, the cosmic illusion that is filtered through each individual.

Just as in Economics there is no real, "fair" price for anything, but rather it is subjective and can only be what free actors agree on as circumstances continuously change. So too there is no objective world "out there" but only what we can agree on according to our own underlying "impressions."

Still we must kick that illusion (prick that bubble) and aim for the underlying consciousness that lies beneath the illusion. Sat Chit Ananda Nama Rupa Existence Knowledge Bliss Name & Form. The illusion is the last two: Name and Form. There's the rub.

I know there is an objective reality, because of how I was raised. I wasn't educated by people, who speak from within their bubbles, but by the real world, which tried to sink my boat.

This informs greatly my interpretation of human intercourse, and exposes the underlying falseness of your thesis that there is only subjective views of price, or facts. What people say is almost always partially untrue (even this comment), but bouncing a boat off rocks does not mislead you at all.

There is a real truth, but we are almost completely insulated from it in society.

I prefer to troll people who disagree with me so I would get bored in such a bubble.

@corbettreport
Everything is a bubble

Loading...

So true . I stopped joining the conversation , because I heard government trolls don’t get paid if they don’t cause a commotion . So I troll the trolls and skip out the side door before they even know what hit them . LOL 😆 And thanks for not making me READ that entire show , and LOL its not that I can’t read , its just that I like to multitask . So if I can hear your show its much better so I can continue on my projects in the shop , or clean my home . 🙏👏👍

Very good points friend.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.03
ETH 3421.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63