How has the internet change your life?

in #internet5 years ago (edited)

View this answer on Musing.io

Oh most of my adult life is connected to the internet. Haha. Without it my life would have been a whole lot different. There's just two things really that the internet has helped me with: as a source of side or main income and a way to communicate to the world.

1. Source of Income

When I discovered the internet I also discovered ways to earn some money online. Not big money though, just the little ones like PTC sites and such. That's it. I also didn't like referring people back then. Don't blame me for thinking small because I didn't come from a rich or very social family at all. Haha. At least I didn't fall for any email scams like other people. Whew. So if there was no internet, I wouldn't have earned a few dollars here and there.


Also, my first career was in the graphic design industry at several companies. I worked as a graphic artist/designer/visualiser. Without the internet, I could still survive as long as there are computers. After that is a whole different story. (Yes I kept doing {and still do} art on the side because of online inquiries. All of the art commissions I get are online!)

When the influx and proliferation of call centers in the capital of the Philippines happened, I became part of that industry next. I'm sure the BPO industry would not be around if not for the internet. 

This also means if the internet didn't come around I also wouldn't have practiced speaking the English language well. I wouldn't be the better English speaker that I am now. If anyone would have talked to me in English I would probably still be speaking slowly or brokenly. 


Oh I remember the first time that happened back in high school. I was shy to speak much to some foreigners when I met someone. Haha. I only said one or two words. Oh well. I wonder what my next career would have been if not for the internet?h such is life.

Anyway, after working in customer service I then went into my current career which is real estate. Oh yeah! Now we're talking. Now we're getting somewhere. So let's see... now that I think about it, my first condo sale was from an online inquiry. Someone saw my post online and they sent me an email. Wow. This person was working overseas that's why. You know what, my next one was also the same! Someone saw my video post online and voila! Whoa... I wouldn't have been able to sell those condos if not for the internet! What a shocker. 


No I still haven't made millions but I have a greater chance of making some if I keep working at it. Hahahaaaa. Oh I just love the internet. I feel slow as a turtle but I'm gonna get there, mark my words. Slowly but surely it seems... Whew.


2. Communication or Online Social Interaction

As mentioned above, the internet played a big part in my second and third career. Now comes the communication aspect of having internet.

You see, without the invention of the world wide web there are a lot of easy communication and transactions that wouldn't have happened. 



I wouldn't have:

  • learned a lot from different people across the globe. Self-help articles and videos are the best!
  • learned how to deal with foreign scammers too. 
  • experienced having online friends who are still my online friends to this day. Lol. Of course I've gotten more online friends as well over the years. Fun times eh?
  • been able to communicate with my grandma who lives abroad. Bless her. 
  • been able to communicate with property clients who also live abroad. See? The internet is a very useful tool.
  • been able to buy and sell items locally and overseas. 
  • been able to survive without work for almost a whole year or less on several occasions.
  • been able to do a lot of things I don't need to mention here. Hehe.




So you see, my life would probably be a whole lot different if not for the internet. I don't know if it would have been worse or better though. Who knows? Thank God for the technology we have today.

And so that's it! 


*cricket sounds*


Oh wait!!! I forgot about online gaming! Haha. There was a time I got hooked playing Ragnarok (MMORPG). Omg. Haha. And can you imagine not being able to watch videos on YouTube and Facebook without the internet? I mean, come on! My life would be so boring! 



Also news about current events and social responsibility would definitely be slowly delivered without the internet. Reaching out to a family member or a friend would be slow too if we didn't have apps and programs connected to the internet. Ah it is such a great tool even if there are dark sides to it too. It really all depends on how we make use of it. 

How about you? How has the internet changed your life? Let me know in the comments. :D


XOXO,

@artgirl


All images are from Pixabay or giphy.com except the Westin gif made by yours truly.


Sort:  

Interesting choice of topic @artgirl

Internet clearly changed pretty much everyones life but we don't seem to think much about it. As a matter of fact, our life depends on it so badly that many of us cannot imagine living without access to wi-fi.

Thanks for sharing your story and experience with us.

Good and smooth read :) Enjoy your weekend,

ps. I presume that you're from Philippines?

pss. I will share your post with few friends if you don't mind. I found it quite interesting and it's very saddening to see lack of engagement.

Yours
Piotr

Thanks. Yep. I'm pretty sure it says my location on my profile and I did say I work here. 😊

This is in response to the interesting question from someone on musing.io.

Hi @artgirl!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 3.457 which ranks you at #7028 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 15 places in the last three days (old rank 7043).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 177 contributions, your post is ranked at #115.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • You're on the right track, try to gather more followers.
  • You have already convinced some users to vote for your post, keep trying!
  • You have already shown user engagement, try to improve it further.

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

I checked out your blog because I saw your comment under tellastorytome--you're not pro-AI. And yet, look how the Internet has changed your life. You seem very nimble and adaptable. Kudos.
I wouldn't write a separate post, but I'd like to add that for a lot of people, the Internet gives access where they wouldn't physically have access--that is, those with physical limitations.

Yeah. I'm ok with just the internet. Superdeveloped AI ain't my thing. Thanks.

I'm happy to know the internet makes your life better too. 👍👍👍

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 56248.57
ETH 2324.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34