Can’t Isn’t A Word In Our Vocabulary | Celebrating International Women’s Day

in #internationalwomensday7 years ago (edited)

Who deserves to be celebrated more than the women in our lives?

I'm sure many of us have exemplary women in our lives that stick out as our teachers or ones we look up to.

On International Women's Day, it's a fantastic time to celebrate ALL WOMEN and especially the ones that empower & inspire us.

32B23EE6-225D-406D-96B0-4B14D7ED5A1D.jpeg

Earlier today as I was responding to comments on our Why We Homestead Post, I felt so thankful & blown away at all of the encouraging comments!

Thank you everyone!

So many people were supporting us in our dedication and fortitude to see things through and on our bravery & courage...

On International Women's Day I want to talk a bit about that and speak to my inspirations on this journey.

74B8EC73-5ED6-4205-9F38-0C253C6E8683.jpeg

First off, I want to give a big Shout Out to my <3 MOM <3 @birdsinparadise for her incredible strength, persistence, inner fortitude and all-around exemplary nature. She's an incredible woman who taught me so much about what it means to be true to myself, how to work hard to accomplish my goals, follow through and to never give up! She's an amazing woman and incredible human being! I love you!

0037B8C3-6DCB-4D90-A9BA-60F757B4708D.jpeg

Women, especially mothers, usually do the tasks that are thankless & unseen. They're the backbones of families and greatest champions of their children. On days like today, we're given the opportunity to showcase them and to look at the ways we can boost the women in our lives more.

When I was growing up I always heard a saying from my Grandma Rotey... She would say:

Can't isn't a word in our vocabulary!

24CEC762-5029-478C-850C-3941301D9373.jpeg

I was thinking of that earlier in the day as I was reading everyone's comments, musing on the inspirations in my life and how, just how, I have grown into the woman I am today. In large part it is because of the example set by my mother and grandmothers who taught me to never give up!

Of course, this needs to be balanced with a good dose of self respect and an understanding of when to stop and take care of ourselves; I'm not advocating for relentless and unhealthy growth or pushing.

This inner fortitude, on the other hand, and the belief that I can do anything has spurred me on in life and lit me up from within to dare to do my dreams.

E870ADB5-B2BB-4471-8D66-AA2D23F8FCF2.jpeg

My other Grandma, Mardell, had a quote on her wall:

Nothing in the world can take the place of Persistence. Talent will not; nothing is more common than unsuccessful men with talent. Genius will not; unrewarded genius is almost a proverb. Education will not; the world is full of educated derelicts. Persistence and Determination alone are omnipotent. The slogan “Press On” has solved and will always solve the problems of the human race.

~ Calive Coolidge

57355924-2415-40DC-9227-3CD4D05D311E.jpeg

On International Woman's Day, let's celebrate the women in our lives who teach and share so much with us and keep pressing on to give women their rightful place and recognition in the world. It is my hope that we can live in a world where we all feel supported, nourished and able to manifest our deepest dreams.

26B320E6-6F8B-44A2-9E36-F76562E22868.jpeg

What are some things you've learned from the women in your life?

Sort:  

I can feel the love and warmth while reading this post and learning about the strength and wisdom of your mother and grandmothers. It made me think about seeing my own grandmother again this spring...we have talked on the phone...but it will be about 5 years since we spent time together in person. She is one of the most generous people that I know...even while experiencing daily personal hardship. <3

Also stopping by to say that you have been featured and curated for MSP Community Curation: Top Five 'Positive PAL Posts' - Week #11

https://steemit.com/community/@creativesoul/msp-community-curation-top-five-positive-pal-posts-week-11

Thank you so much for your touching and heartfelt comment. I’m so happy to hear you’ll get to spend some time with your grandma. All of mine are passed on and that time is sooo precious!! We have so much to learn from them and to give back to them!! 💖✨ thank you too for this epic share that you blessed this post with ❤️

She is starting to fade...so this summer will be really special in regards to making memories and asking about anything about our family history that I might be wondering now or in the future. It's just wonderful to have this forethought...most don't get that chance! Much love and light...the epic share is most deserved. Hopefully it comes with some added visibility! <3

This post has been resteemed from MSP3K courtesy of @creativesoul from the Minnow Support Project ( @minnowsupport ).

Bots Information:

Join the P.A.L. Discord | Check out MSPSteem | Listen to MSP-Waves

Thank you 🙏

I have learned so much from you! You have such courage! To step out, and choose a path which is a path most don't have the courage to pursue! Thank you @mountainjewel for your incredible example to me. Such a wonderful post. I am so proud of you.

Awww 💚💙 you’re my favorite mom. Thanks for being so awesome & teaching me so much, loving me the way you do which has enabled me to become who I am!! 💖✨ see ya next week, superstar!!

Thanks for helping me find your mom's blog. Also for the reminders of the grandmothers. I actually have a small altar with items owned by each of the women in my family going back to my great grandmother. It includes a small quilted wall hanging my mother made for her mother, who is no longer with us.

I think we celebrate the dedication and loving commitment of these women when we remember them. Deep bows to the women who made us, loved us, and kept us alive!

Amen to all of your words. You hit the core of it right there. I love your altar with bits from all the women in your line- how powerful. We not only came out of all of their wombs, but carry tangible elements of them on the daily. I’ve always found inspiration from the women in my life. Where would be be without them?

Yes yes yes to your comment. So glad we’re connected here on steemit; you’re a human with so much heart & strength 💜 happy women’s day to you!

😀 And to you as well!

such a beautiful post!! Thank you so much for sharing. Can't isn't a word in our vocabulary. YES!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62102.31
ETH 2432.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.67