#Ulog No1: Her Eternal Sleep

in #inteardrops6 years ago (edited)

IMG_6044[1].JPG

As Lola Teofila’s sun sets,
she finally laid her eternal sleep.

IMG_6037[1].JPG

Last March 28, 2018, I was about to create a blog about the eldest Barugonon
(one who lives in Barugo) existing.
However, because of so much work, and other stuffs, I wasn’t able to create one.
I feel sorry for myself because I wasn’t able to tell the world about this woman.
I really wanted to put into words my personal interview with her and her story.

This is the late Mrs. Teofila Emnas Zata, a wife, a mother, and a good citizen.
She is the 2nd child of Mr. Buenaventuro Emnas and Mrs. Tecla Quintana.
She was born in February 22, 1915 in the town of Barugo, province of Leyte, Philippines.
She finished her elementary years at Barugo I Central Elementary School in the year 1921
and pursued High School at Leyte Institute on the following year.
Late of 1920s when she finished her Bachelor’s Degree in Education at Leyte State College,
presently recognized as Leyte Normal University.
She spent her working years in Manila and came back to Barugo in the year 1955.
At age 40 she gave birth to Leo Q. Emnas, her only son.

After several years of being a single mom,
in February 16, 1972 Lola Pilang married Mr. Teodoro Zata,
a former member of Philippine Constabulary.
Their church wedding took place in July 29, 1972 at St. Joseph Parish.
Their marriage was solemnized by Rev. Fr. Estanislao A. Abarca,
the resident Parish Priest of the town during that year.

Unfortunately, Mr. Zata passed away after their 20yrs of marriage.
He got sick and died peacefully.
Lola Pilang remained faithful to him; she didn’t remarry after his death.

On her early 50s she was one of the teachers who were dedicated to teach.
Although Lola Pilang wasn’t given a break to become a regular permanent teacher,
she became a substitute teacher in different public elementary schools.

Nevertheless, she succeeded in dressmaking.
She was a well-known dressmaker in the town.
Her products were madig-on (well-made).
In fact, she still used her sewn blouses and skirts until her last years.

Lola Pilang was vigorous on religious activities throughout her retirement period.
She was truly a Christian devotee.
She was a churchgoer and a Cofradia leader.
She participated in anything and everything the Parish Pastoral Council practiced.

During the interview, I‘ve seen in her face the excitement and worry.
She was excited, because she was visited by an unfamiliar individual.
She used to talk to people most of the time especially to her family and relatives.
At her age, she could even call them by their names.

On the other hand, I saw worry in her when she wasn’t able to answer some of my questions.
What melted my heart was when she was trying to give every bit of information she remembers.
At some point, I practically knew that it could be hard for her to remember things.

What wowed me was when she mentioned about her favorite food.
Lola Pilang was a vegetarian.
Her favorite dish was Ginata-ang Dagmay
(a local Waray dish which uses gabi leaves as main ingredient).
She regularly eats cooked rice; sometimes lugaw (rice porridge).
Also, she’s not into soda.
She preferred water.

When I asked her about her perception on being 103 years old.
She gladly gave me smile and said,”Nalilipay ako nga gintagan pa ako
hin sugad hine nga higayon han Ginoo.”
(I am glad that God has given me this opportunity.)
When I asked her, “Naruruyag ka pa ba La umabot ha 104 nga edad?”
(Grandma, would you like to reach 104 years?)
It took her a short pause before she answered my question.
She replied, “Oo, kun amo an pagbuot han Ginoo.”

When Lola Pilang graduated college…
20180406_162433.jpg

When her college picture was shown to her,
She barely recognized herself;
maybe because it wasn’t the look she was used into on the past few years.
Her eyes and her ears are slightly defective.
However, her mouth could still speak for herself.

For some, 103 is just a number.
Perhaps, it’s an amount, or maybe a measurement of something.
For this resilient woman, 103 is a blessing from her creator.

My interview with Lola Pilang ended for almost an hour.
Before we bid good bye, we had a photo op.
I didn't expect that it was our first and last meeting.

Our photo together
20180406_163404.jpg

I felt grateful for I had a chance to speak with a 103-year old woman.
Even in her last year, I became part of it.
However, I felt sad knowing the fact that she’s gone and will never be seen again.

May Lola Pilang's soul rests in peace.

@d-inspired
at your service

Our mentor @surpassinggoogle has been very supportive of our group (STEEMITDIVERSIFY) and other groups too. Please support him as a witness by voting him at https://steemit.com/~witnesses and type in "steemgigs" at the first search box.
If you want to give him witness voting decisions on your behalf, visit https://steemit.com/~witnesses again and type in "surpassinggoogle" in the second box as a proxy.
Others that are good: @beanz, @teamsteem, @good-karma, @busy.org, @esteemapp, @hr1, @arcange @bayanihan, @acidyo, @anomadsoul, @steemitph, @henry-grant, @jerrybanfield, @paradise-found, @shikika, and @ellechim0816

Thanks also to @yanzel4lyf for introducing me to steemit and to @iwrite for the support.

Sort:  

wow my mom is 93 jus 10 more years hmmm

amazing po nila =)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86