How I got 100,000 followers on Instagram

in #instagram3 years ago (edited)

instagram.jpg

It probably makes sense to check out my profile first to see that my following is legit: https://www.instagram.com/zeanmacfarlane/

Now that you've done that lets get into the good stuff! I'll keep this first blog to 5 tips as I get lazy myself when reading other peoples blogs. Do note my aim of this blogpost is to touch on topics that nobody is talking about, or at least touch on topics from a fresh perspective!

  1. Getting in early
    So lets cut to the facts. My huge advantage with social media comes from the fact that I got in early, if I did what I did back in 2015, now, I wouldn't get the same results! But truth be told alongside me being incredibly lucky, I've always been good at seeing the next trend! I took a leap into social media when those around me thought it was a waste of time. I didn't know which platform was going to pop so I shared my content on as many different platforms as possible! So if you're feeling disheartened, thinking that you may have got into social media a little bit late, don't dwell on it! Instead be on guard for the next trend that hits. It may be a new social media platform or it may be a new way of marketing completely!

  2. Being unique
    There are a lot of people talking about "make sure you stand out on instagram". But really my advice is to stop trying to be unique and be "truly authentic". When you do this what you produce will be unique, because as humans we are all beautifully unique. Most of us are trying to copy what worked for other people. Produce content that works for you despite the attention that it gets.

  3. Solve a problem
    I used to want to be one of the best Architects in the world. After working at various practices and seeing a long list of self centred ego driven Architects my mindset changed. My new goal evolved into "how can I be the most inspiring Architect in the world". In fact how could I be an inspiration in general. This change in my mindset came through solving my own problem. Along my journey one of the biggest challenges I faced was not having someone to look up to in my field that I could truly relate to. Therefore my Instagram along with all my other social media pages became a source of inspiration for my younger self.

  4. Network
    Till this day people still think I used bots to amount my following. Especially nowadays with instagram algorithms destroying my own and other content creators engangement rate. The truth of it is, platforms like Instagram are no longer working in our favour unless you are paying for advertising. But there is hope. Regardless of your industry there are always pages that share content within social media platforms. Pages that have a brand focus of sharing other peoples work. No matter if your an artist, designer, singer, writer etc. A big key in my growth is creating good relationships with these pages. How you may ask? (Start off with a direct message!)

  5. Understanding your audience
    One of the biggest lessons I've learnt from social media is that there is no such thing as followers. Having followers paints a picture that you are some kind of leader. It implies that there is some kind of loyalty there. But it couldn't be further from the truth because most people on social media including myself go to the place that provides the most value. It is most realistic to see your followers like people in a crowd or even people you see walking down the street. Some people are polite and will smile at you as you pass. Some people will look at you and criticize you for being you (at least in their head). And on the much rarer occasion some people will pass you by and appreciate you for who you are. What I'm trying to get at here is a follower isn't necessarily a fan of what you do. But when you actually meet real fans you must cherish them, understand them too and know what they appreciate about you. Fans share your work, fans fight your corner when you are not there, and fans in turn help to grow your overall audience. That is not to say we shouldn't treat our followers with love and respect but know that one true fan trumps 1000 followers.

So that is all people! If this does well in terms of engagement, I'll write some more.
As I've got tips for creating a great social media presence coming out of my ears!

And don't forget if you're interested in really mastering social media check out my online course. It's from the heart!

Social media course: https://www.100architecturetips.com/product/grow-your-social-media-course/

Much love!

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/zeanmacfarlane/

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/100architecturetips/

Tumblr: http://zeanmacfarlane.tumblr.com/

Pinterest: https://uk.pinterest.com/zeanmacfarlane/pins/

Twitter: https://twitter.com/zeanmacfarlane

Tiktok: https://www.tiktok.com/@zeanmacfarlane

Clubhouse, telegram etc: @zeanmacfarlane

Sort:  

Congratulations you are the best author of the day. your prize will be with you soon.

@zeanmacfarlane, I've looked at your instagram - impressive, really, 100,000 followers, that's super! You're a famous person, but unfortunately no one on Steemit knows you. That needs to change!

I am looking forward to where Steemit takes me! Much potential I hope!!!!

And thank you for reading!!!!

goodness!!! you are in all social medias possible! wow...how do you get the time for that? I guess I´m still from the analogical era in a way.

Hi Romanie, you are right it's very time consuming! There are days where I wonder how I have the time for it too. Instead of chomping away in a message here I will make a post on how I do it to possibly help people out. So thank you for the inspiration there!

Lovely artwork by the way, i've only had a skim through your profile but liked what I saw. Beautiful!

All the best,

Zean

great! I´ll check out your post and see how you do it! ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.030
BTC 59347.70
ETH 2534.40
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47