I had 50k Instagram followers, but I’m switching to Steemit

in #instagram7 years ago

instagram-image1-2.jpg

Growing My Account on Instagram

I joined Instagram back in 2009 or so and just used it as everybody else did. I posted concert photos, cool places and photos with friends. I noticed that about two or three years ago that when I posted a few images of art, architecture and design things that I started to get some serious likes. Probably around 300-500 likes per image at that time. It was a little surprising and a little exciting, so I kept doing it. I posted probably twice a week or so and tried to keep it to the best design work I was doing or a sketch from vacation or a building I was dreaming up. After months and months of this, my followers grew from a few hundred to a few thousand to tens of thousands to just over 50k total followers earlier this year.

The Big (Bad) Instagram Update

Back in March of 2017, Instagram changed the primary way in which the app had always displayed posts to users. One of the biggest changes that Instagram made in their update is that posts from accounts you follow no longer show up in chronological order. Not only can you not see the posts in chronological order, but you don’t even have the choice to reorganize them in any order other than what Instagram has decided. A lot of people were upset about this change.

So How Does Instagram Decide Which Posts to Show?

When instagram released this new algorithm they stated that the feed would be “ordered to show the moments we believe you will care about the most”. This included a number of changes, but one of them is incredibly hurtful to how certain people access and get exposure to their own followers. Instagram limits the posts to your followers based on their user behavior. If they like images of dogs, they’ll be fed more images of dogs and therefor will not see a lot of other posts that are happening because Instagram isn’t quite sure if they’ll like those photos.

instagram-screenshot-thisweek.jpg

Why the New Instagram is Failing Me

I haven’t been very active on Instagram for a number of months now - my followers are dropping, as they naturally do over time, and I don’t care about getting new ones. The overall experience is terrible. Not only are there more ads integrated into your feed along with the unwanted “suggested” posts from people who you don’t follow, but Instagram is selecting which posts you see from people you follow. If you like images of dogs, you’ll be fed more images of dogs and therefor will not see a lot of other posts that are happening because Instagram isn’t quite sure if you’ll like those photos. You’ll notice very quickly that your entire feed is filled with the same types of photos. Is this improved experience or limited experience? I’d say limited.

instagram-image5.jpg

The Big Problem

The big problem with this type of user image targeting for me is that I post very diverse content. Even though it’s all design related, sometimes I’m posting a 3d rendering of a building we designed or a photo of a pen drawing or a screen mockup of an app or website we designed. In general, when a user clicks like on the rendering images, they’ll continue to get the images of renderings that we post, but they might not see the other types of images unless they’ve liked images like that in the past also. What’s the point of having a lot of followers if they don’t see your posts?



instagram-image3.jpg

My Little Test

I wanted to see what the difference would be between a successful post from the past and the same image posted now. I took a post that had 1,658 likes and when I reposted it I found that the new post only received 210 likes. That is an incredible decrease in likes. Another thing that is happening is that Instagram is punishing those who are not using the app and interacting constantly. When I click like on a lot of posts and comment on a lot of posts I’ll get a greater return on user interaction - comments on my post will go from 1 or 2 to 25 if I interact more. While I understand that overall the community is better with very active users, the punishment is creating low quality interaction. The degree of punishment for those who only interact for 5-10 minutes per day versus hours per day is far too harsh.

Shouldn’t quality posts and quality interaction outweigh a large quantity of poor interaction? I’ve noticed a huge increase of what I’d simply call garbage comments like “nice” or “cool” or one thumbs up emoji. A little of this is fine, but not when it completely replaces any meaningful dialogue on a social media platform.

instagram-image4.jpg

This Is Why I’m Switching to Steemit

In the limited amount of time that I’ve been on Steemit I’ve noticed quality comments, interesting and diverse posts and a general sense of community that is lost in other social media platforms. Maybe this is driven by the fact that there is currency involved or maybe people are interested in trying something different or maybe it’s just a better platform in general. I’m not quite sure what the answer is yet, but I’m in for the ride and excited to see how it plays out. I’m encouraged by the possibilities of Steemit as it relates to cryptocurrency and its potential as a major player in the future of new-age social media platforms.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on Steemit as a social media platform and how it differs from the other popular platforms.

Ciao for now, Steemians.

- Weston (aka @design-guy)

follow-design-guy.gif

Sort:  

Hope you are directing 50k here! Welcome :)

I'll do my part ;)

You are very welcomed here, Weston

Sad to hear that Instagram disappointed you in the long run. I hope you have more luck with Steemit and entertain a lot of people.

I guess it wouldn't be bad to tell you Instagram followers about your decision. If even only a fraction of them would swap over that would be great for everyone.

Good Luck and have a nice day :)

Brian

Thanks @brianalex

I'm glad you're getting on Steemit now, if nothing else, it's a platform that isn't controlled by Zuckerburg.

Yeah, I think the over emphasis of some types of posts could actually make it boring. I used to post some art there at times, but I almost never use Instagram anymore. Plus, I never liked that I couldn't leave a link in any of my posts.

Welcome here, I am sure you can add a lot of value to Steem! People like you will start to use this platform for the same reasons and I think they will leave FB as well because of the ads and unrelevant, targeted posts.

Exactly. Well said @zoltanbristol

Welcome to SteemIt! I'm a professional online marketer and have been since 2008.

I have literally tried hundreds of different social media platforms over the past 9 years.

Instagram used to be one of my favorites, but I noticed and disliked the same changes you have pointed out.

When I follow someone there, it's because I'm interested in them and not just some of their posts, meaning I want to see ALL of their posts, not just what Instagram THINKS I want to see.

The fact is that Instagram is usually wrong when trying to anticipate my interests. I think the way Facebook and Instagram operate are often directly affected by Zuckerberg's arrogant, narcissistic personality. I have no doubt that the guy micromanages his company and is probably directly involved in even the smallest of decisions.

At any rate, when it comes to SteemIt, the community is absolutely incredible. It's like nothing I've ever seen on any other social media platform. The best part is we NEVER have to worry about one person coming in and dictating to us how the platform will be run, because the community itself is in charge here.

I have no doubt that you will be successful here, and that you will fall in love with the whole idea of SteemIt.

Glad to have you on board!

Amazing comment @contentking You're absolutely right. I love the community and post driven success of the platform vs. advertising schemes and force-fed posts

I used to love instagram aswell but since the update it really is terrible, like you said if you like a picture of cats and wait 2 minutes your feed will be full of cats, also when scrolling through instagram I would often see posts from 3 or more days ago! I've been on steemit for a day and I am already enjoying 10x more the instagram!

Excellent!! Me too. @s10

Send them all here!!!!!
We need crowds!

Working on it @andrejcibik - Got my brother on this week too

Im planning to make some propagation material for my followers too (I have many fewer than you). But Im lazy to start :D Too many paid projects.

Upvoted and also resteemed!

thanks t-swift

Welcome good luck

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.12
JST 0.028
BTC 63721.78
ETH 3503.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54