WHAT DO YOU WANT?!!!

in #inspire6 years ago (edited)

What do you really want?
IMG-20170531-WA0005.jpg
I just finished discussing with a young man that wants to learn programming languages.

He actually saw me at Enugu Mall where I was working on my laptop as I was redesigning my website.

He was subtly looking at my screen and saw how I was working on some codes.

He didn't talk to me.

It was when I was done and about to leave that he approached me.

And he said to me...

"Bro, can you teach me programming? I want to learn programming."

He didn't even ask if I'm a programmer.

Anyway...

I asked him the programming language he wants to learn.

He said he will like to learn all the high-end programming languages.

I asked him, like what and what?

He answered...

"I want to learn Java, Fortran, C++, C#, Python and others."

I looked at him and knew he has not found clarity.

He's still 'confused' and he doesn't know what he wants yet.

I didn't have enough time to help him.

So, I told him to first figure out what he wants, then start with one and learn the basics and take it up from there.

I asked him to find free tutorials on YouTube and join some Forums and Facebook Groups related to what he wants to learn.

Here's the thing...

You need to really figure out what you want and follow that path.

You will need to really work on your focus and stop being distracted by every shiny object.

Find your true path and walk in it.

Find your style and rock with it.

Find your voice and speak out with it.

You have something to give. You have something that stands you out.

Build your positioning.

There's no point jumping from one thing to another.

Pick one thing and work on it until you start seeing results.

Focus on one thing.

Build a community around it.

Build influence in it.

Start generating income from it.

Then, you can easily branch to other niches.

Don't dissipate your energy by carrying so many things at the same time.

If you want to run effectively , be lean and mean.

If you want to be a programmer, then figure out what you want to build.

Do you want to build native, web or mobile apps?

What actually do you want?

Don't let other people's skills or expertise intimidate you.

This is why people choose Medicine as a course over Creative Writing.

They pursue title.

They believe it's intimidating when you introduce someone as a Doctor and introduce another as a Mister.

This is why young web enthusiasts want to be programmers or software engineers.

They think it's more geeky to answer a programmer than to be known as a frontend designer.

But, they don't know that they can do amazing things in their life's time as UI and UX designers.

It boils down to this...

What do you really want?

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 61078.25
ETH 2671.36
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51