In Beauty May I WalksteemCreated with Sketch.

In-Beauty-May-I-Walk-640x405.jpg

In beauty

may I walk

All day long

may I walk

Through the returning seasons

may I walk

Beautifully

will I possess again

Beautifully birds

beautifully joyful birds

On the trail marked with pollen

may I walk

With grasshoppers about my feet

may I walk

With dew about my feet

may I walk

With beauty may I walk

with beauty before me

may I walk

With beauty behind me

may I walk

With beauty above me

may I walk

With beauty all around me

may I walk

In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, lively,

may I walk

In old age, wandering on a trail of beauty, living again,

may I walk,

It is finished in beauty.

It is finished in beauty.

From the Navajo

Originally from a little book I acquired, "In beauty may I walk... words of wisdom by native Americans", 1997, edited by Helen Exley.

The Wisdom of Beauty: My Thoughts on in Beauty May I Walk

Each individual tribe has their own word for beauty, but they all express the same concept.

But what does it mean?

First and foremost, one must think of it is a way of life.

Beauty, to the Native American way of thinking, which isn’t quite as mundane as it is in the English language. Beauty is a way of life. It is a way of feeling connected to this world, to nature and the Universe. It is also a statement on how the world was viewed and their place in it.

Feminine is it's gender and nature, I think of it much like the Yin element in Yin / Yang in Chinese.

Nizhóní is the Navaho word for Beauty.

The Navajo idea of beauty goes beyond mere appearances though. Beauty is a sense of being, and is comprised of harmony and balance that is felt within. Things outside of our own minds can remind us of that beauty, and those things are called nizhóní.

Nizhóní is a term that is related to hózhó, which is harmony. The word harmony has deeper meanings, and too is often equated with the Navajo way of life.

In the sense of this poem beauty has more to do with appreciation of the many diverse forms of life, giving thanks for all that we are given, to walk bravely and not fearfully through life, do no harm to our Mother, the Earth.

What would you add? What are your insights?

Sort:  

Great montra!

Oh yes, it could be. Hadn't thought about it in that light before ;-)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 65858.36
ETH 3493.88
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.53