My Research Journey: Division Science and Technology Fair

I ain't the most intelligent student in the class, nor was I the most diligent. I graduated Junior High School with no special awards at all although I was from the Science Curriculum. Entering Senior High School wasn't hard but choosing what school to enter is hard. I want to be a HUMSS student. Humanities and social sciences. Teachers encourage Science Curriculum Students to take up STEM (Science Technology engineering and Mathematics) as a strand for senior high school. So I did. I almost ended up regretting my decision of not choosing HUMSS until this happened.

Scientific research is a MUST for every STEM student. Although we did it for 4 years during junior days, it's still very hard for us. We were a group of 3 and our research teacher hated us a lot. She would scold us for small things and we also hated her. BUT WE DID NOT GIVE UP.

Our research adviser asked our class which groups will join the Division Science Fair. At that time, our research study was far from done and decided not to join. But then when the teacher announced the privileges we would get if we join, we undoubtedly did join.

Days before the fair, the teacher told me to join the fair individually. Meaning, I'd go there alone and defend our study ALONE. I didn't agree but my groupmates encouraged me because it would give us a greater chance of winning.

A day before the fair, I cried. Our research product isn't what we expected and I thought we already failed.

I was really nervous in every second during the fair. It's my first time alone. I already got pimples on my face maybe because of the stress. I degraded our study a lot because I thought it won't make an impact in any aspect.

My name was called and it was time for me to defend. I was given 5 minutes to do the talking.
"Good morning, panel of judges. I am Earlyn Nicole Gabuyo from Iligan City East national High School. Lanao del Norte is known for its vast production of banana fruits. It is being distributed to neighboring cities. As a result, agricultural waste would cause flooding in areas especially those with already problems of garbage. These waste were allowed to decompose for 2 months and a lot could happen in that time. Bio-based Pot from Banana Pseudo-stem Fiber. It aids in gardening especially in nurseries or even tree planting. A plantable pot necessary for proper and undisturbed plant growth....."

I wasn't really expecting to win but I was praying to God that He would give me what I deserve. On the afternoon, it was time to announce the winners of the event. i was ready to go home as I really didn't expect anything good.

"Physical Science Individual Category First Place goes to Earlyn Nicole Gabuyo from Iligan city East National High school!"

I almost cried at that. But my journey didn't end there.

7CA6C599-336E-4708-B0EA-D4406565E71F.jpeg

8D304726-B8C0-4F4E-9297-1E96F51B9FC8.jpeg

3DB8D21B-AD5F-4DF9-BB08-24F3BB18BEB0.jpeg

The research journey isn't done yet. Give this post a like if you liked my story ❤️ God bless hoomans.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35