Four Thousand Breaths

in #inspirational8 years ago (edited)

I feed upon the sky at night
as the last ribbon of sun is gone
darkness envelopes this place I sit
four thousand breaths from dawn

my eyes embrace the ancient light,
as countless have before,
as crickets sound their seamless chirp
from grass down by the shore.

time’s a faint and faded concept,
the years converge as one,
miles are merely memories
that are brushed away and shunned.

reality is obsolete
before the evening’s shepherd moon,
my eyes open to realize
it’s four thousand breaths from noon.

http://www.ericvancewalton.net/

Related posts:

https://steemit.com/travel/@ericvancewalton/wander-lost

Sort:  

That is quite majickal. If this is your original work you are an old soul. I appreciate your words they touched me. My current post isn't as deep by any means but here it is for your pleasure. Blessed Be!
https://steemit.com/honeymoon/@kalaylah77/ever-been-on-a-cruise-what-s-one-thing-you-wish-you-brought-that-you-d-deff-remember-for-nextime

Thank you @kalaylah77 , I wrote this one in the early nineties and is still one of my favorites. I appreciate you sharing your work, I'll definitely read it!

An unusual way to measure time. It took around 25 breaths to savor this beautiful piece.

Thanks for reading it, @dev ! : )

Pleasure is all mine @ericvancewalton

In the chaos of meaningless content I found a nice poetry shared by you. That was like breathing fresh air in the middle of Beijing, China. I have included you in my list of people who I can look forward to, on Steemit.

Also I followed you. That goes without saying.

Thank you so much, @dev . I feel better about Steemit now knowing there are people who appreciate poetry here. Where there is poetry there are civilized souls. ; )

True that. Wish you good health and healthy ideas so that you bring out more awesome content in the future.

ps i hope you don't mind i'm sharing this to my FB, I feel my "friends" could use your enlightenment!

I don't mind at all, I appreciate you sharing it!

I like this, good job. Hope there is more where this came from!

Thank you, @jonasontheroof ! I have hundreds of original poems like this. I'll post them periodically on Steemit. I appreciate your upvote and your comment!

That's great! I'll follow. I have shared two of mine so far. More to come as well

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.030
BTC 59367.33
ETH 3172.01
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43