Sort:  

Grinning and appreciating :)

Sounds intriguing. Ill read up about it as moment to moment exoerience is the crux of meditative practice which calms my anxiety. Sure, as we a human, we need to envisage a future to manifest dreams but im uncomfortable with his dismissal of the now. How can the present be the past if you are in this precise present moment to moment? Hmmmm... food for thought and thanks for sharing.

There's a lot that will make you uncomfortable in this book. That's why I'm still like 1/3 of the way through it. I have to read it really slowly and digest it. It's good to get really uncomfortable with ideas that are so new and different that it freaks you out. Spirituality is often paradox. I find presence AND this future-presence to be really profound and both valid.

It's SO important to challenge our beliefs I agree! I've blown my book budget this month already but I really want to read this one.

you won't regret it and next month is fine too ;>)

Beliefs are just bullshit anyway. ;) We can find things that resonate and help us with life, and that's that.

@riverflows - I totally agree with what @brightstar describes here.
I also think that you can be both in the presence and focus on the (distant) future (- presence to be) and be happy. Then again, even thinking of the past and reliving fun, happy memories isn't a bad thing. It won't move you forward though ;>)

P.S. I am just a fast reader, have always been. That's why I should definitely give this a second and perhaps a third or fourth read. There's a lot to digest. I'm also a fast eater and digester, haha!

Ha I read fast too but it's probably better I read slower as I'd absorb more the first time!!! I used to read books and books and books a WEEK but now I'm lucky to read at all...

I see what you mean, but when I'm really in the flow I can grasp a lot really depends on the kind of content, reason why I read a book. And if necessary, I give it another read. I just can't get myself to read slowly, that feels unnatural/ forced to me :>)

I used to read books and books and books a WEEK but now I'm lucky to read at all...

I get it. I do my best to prioritized reading again, although I also listen a lot these days ( audio books, youtube talks and so on )

I'm slow at everything!

He's not necessarily dismissing the now, but he describes it as a very recent past that you've been creating from your personal perspective. There is - of course - a tiny bit of time between what we witness and our brain painting the picture of it. So, in that way, what we experience is always the past.

I guess what he's trying to say is that the now ( and the past ) won't get you anywhere, which doesn't mean you can't be happy by focusing on it for a while.

Real happiness lies in imagination though, according to Benthinho Massaro and that is where kids are spending most of their time. Whether that's the now or the future-presence can be argued
but, isn't it more fun to imagine an amazing future? ;>)

I'm STILL not done with it! It's a lot for me. I can't imagine getting through it in a day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58092.36
ETH 2469.79
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.38