You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Living On Borrowed Time

I love that violet - so beautiful and delicate! I also love your daughter's attitude, which I've seen from time to time in my young ones as well. Dandelions are such cheerful flowers, it's a shame we see them as weeds, when they are such a great source of food, medicine and, well - cheer!

Sort:  

Thank you! Yes, her innocence was so sweet. Dandelions really are cheerful, I love seeing them everywhere. I never knew that they were good for those things!

The root is useful as a coffee substitute from what I understand - though I haven't tried it. My mother uses the leaves in her green smoothies and I've used the petals in taco filling - though it's more famous for making dandelion wine. The only part that's not edible is the stem with the bitter, milky sap. I believe medicinally, it's very good for the kidneys.

Wow! That is incredible. I want to try some in my tea now. How does it taste?

I haven't done just the leaves before, but apparently they're rather bitter.
When I added the flowers (not the base, just the yellow bit) to the taco meat, I actually couldn't taste it much, so I don't know! lol. And I haven't tried the wine thing yet.Sorry to not be of much use there, but there's a guy on YouTube who does a series about "Eat the Weeds" - worth a listen!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 65811.20
ETH 3178.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.54