⚡The power of 1 second

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

We don’t remember days, we remember moments.

If I ask you to give me Top 5 best memories of 2017, probably, you will name me the most significant ones which come first to your mind: birthday party, New year celebration, trip to a new place etc. 

That’s happening because our brain is operating in a tight relationship with our senses and emotions. So it's easier to remember very bright moments standing out from your daily routine.

Do you remember how hard it was to study at school or university because it was a pure stream of information and you were trying to memorise it repetitively? But it’s so easy to remember lyrics of the song after listening to it for just 2-3 times. 

The secret is that music as well as sense of smell are very good anchors for the information we are consuming. 

That’s why my favourite brain expert Jim Kwik recommends to add the unfamiliar scent while you are studying to connect your memory to this particular external anchor: use essential oils, perfume or chewing gum. And use it again when you are passing an exam.

I also found out that for me it was enough to look at just 1 second video or one image of the concert I have attended some time ago to bring back the full range of emotions. Very practical outcome: now I don’t need to film all the songs, looking at the concert through the screen of my phone but be more present in the moment and give myself a permission to just fully experience the energy and my emotions.  

What’s the true purpose of us taking heaps of photos these days? 

We simply want to bring back the moments when we felt happy, curious, loving and joyful because the visual picture triggers our brain to remind us the whole spectrum of events of that day just looking at one photo.

But what if you could remember every day and capture little by little all the special bits of your life?

Luckily, there’s an app which can help us do it :) 

It’s called 1 Second Everyday which helps you to store your own collection of moments. 

Since I’ve started using it, I feel I have a powerful tool to store the memory anchors and find beautiful inspiring things in my everyday life. 

I want to look back at my year and remember every single day I lived, loved and enjoyed.

I strongly encourage you to find 1 second a day to capture it. But what comes as a bonus is that you more actively start looking for little simple things which make you happier every day.

Here is my February 2018 recap video.

I feel like today is a good day to start your one second life project

Thanks for visiting my blog. I’d love to hear your feedback and get connected
Wish you an amazing day,
Vika @vikapuzach

Sort:  

This is way cool. And you life looks like so much fun. :)

Thank you @intspekt! It is cool because I learned to appreciate little moments :)

Yeah, that is neat. Worthwhile lesson.

You’ve been upvoted by TeamMalaysia Community :-

To support the growth of TeamMalaysia Follow our upvotes by using steemauto.com and follow trail of @myach

Vote TeamMalaysia witness bitrocker2020 using this link vote for witness

you've just given me an idea !! hahh ... i like the 1 second clips . so cool

Happy to spread this idea around! I'm sure everyone can benefit from it :)

Love this idea of 1 second! And awesome recap video. :) I hope you have a great week this week Vika! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60964.72
ETH 2920.62
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64