You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The 7 Liberating Life Truths I Learned While Skateboarding

in #inspiration7 years ago

Fully!!! That's awesome that you seized that opportunity of an underutilized skateboard to create so much value in your life. I have always wanted to skate but the times that I was presented a small opportunity, I would be so excited! But in those couple of opportunities, I would have the same experience...
Step one: put wheels on ground
Step two: put one foot on board
Step three: put second fo...wow, I just came close to breaking my tail, wrist, or both bones.

I used your "know when to bail" skill to learn from the painful lesson that I didn't know the first thing about doing this and remaining intact so I opted to not keep trying to get back on the board at that time. I knew that I would do better to either get educated, or get some pads, first.

But the lesson that resonates most with me is skate or die. I left the safety of a full-time position to go to an "as needed" level of guaranteed hours because I knew that I was not challenged by the "typical" path of a professional in my field and I didn't feel like my field had been holding up its end of its societal bargin. It has pushed me to acknowledge my passion for improving the return on the trust society puts on healthcare by being dedicated to helping people accurately understand what health and quality can mean. This involves risk with losing social, credential and financial support of governing bodies or my cohort but my personal belief is that progress should be made for that sake of progress and life is the short amount of time you get that nearly impossible chance to contribute. It's hard to get caught up in a personal legacy when considering the scale of existence :)

Sort:  

woah @thedreamsteem sounds like we are most definitely on a similar path here. I really resonate with this:

I knew that I was not challenged by the "typical" path of a professional in my field and I didn't feel like my field had been holding up its end of its societal bargin.

and of course this:

This involves risk with losing social, credential and financial support of governing bodies or my cohort but my personal belief is that progress should be made for that sake of progress and life is the short amount of time you get that nearly impossible chance to contribute.

I feel you fully there. Thus far, it's been quite a challenge for me, but I never regret it and with all the good that has come from it, I would do it again if I had to!

Thanks so much for stopping by and sharing @thedreamsteem. I appreciate you!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 62255.52
ETH 2449.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63