What Steemit Is All About - An Inspiring Experience For Some Faith In Humanity

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

It's the thought that counts.

I host a daily 100+ rep fitness challenge on Steemit where a growing team of 31 participants from 9 countries have done 195,619 exercise reps over 87 consecutive days. That's a lot of dedication and hard work, much of which is well under the radar, but this post is not about that. Some background was needed.

To incentivize Steemians to push themselves, and since my voting power is modest, I pay out 1 SBD to everyone for each 10,000 rep marker they personally cross. When I established that reward, I didn't consider what would happen when I reached those milestones myself. This is the focal point of this post.

I just crossed the 10K rep marker for the first time and received awards from two dedicated members on their own, @thevillan & @mightpossibly. I'm the one that is supposed to be giving the awards, but they didn't think so. Since they're amazing upvoters and commenters on most of my content, I was surprised, but not shocked to see their names in my wallet the next day. To be fair, I also received a "just because" gift from another active fitness guru, @khufu, thanking me for managing the daily fitness blog. These kind gestures were very thoughtful and meant a lot to me as our blog struggles to see the light of day within the overall Steemit community.

I post my reps and everyone's stats, without fail, no matter what obstacle there is (even a few hours after my Dad died). I do this because I made a commitment to be a motivator and inspiration for others, and to lead by example. To get inspiration back from them in the ways they can is a great feeling. With everyone in the group being beyond generous with their time, advice, upvotes, resteems, and promotional efforts to try to spread the word around Steemit, it's a strong example of how we can build meaningful communities on this platform that are for our betterment.

Then there's this guy I also want to shout out...

The thing that floored me today was that I received a 1 SBD award from a brand new Steemian, @notorious562, who only has 18 Steem Power. This man claws for STEEM and gave me 20% of his weekly earnings as a gift to keep ME motivated. That's amazing for the thought.

In a Steemit society where I see so many people hesitant to even vote generously, @notorious562 sent me money he earned posting regularly with minimal payout. This is amazing and I want to shout him and the others above for being good people, not just Steemians, or account names.

Proof:

Danny is one of the most supportive, enthusiastic and positive people on my daily blog since finding it two weeks ago. He's quickly become a workout force and plays a great role in keeping everyone proud of their accomplishments, especially me, when I tend to underplay my workouts so that others can have the spotlight. I hope that you can start to follow him and give him some votes to show him that the community rewards outstanding behavior when they see it, as well as the others!

FYI - I flipped back his gift with an extra SBD since it's really the thought that counts.

Please take a minute to think about how we should treat others to grow this community the right way. Delegations, bots, auto-votes and Steem Power bias can clog our judgment at times, but Steemit is really about the people.

Here's my latest daily fitness blog if you'd like to learn more about getting involved for your health. We all motivate and learn from each other. It's a great team.

Fitness Challenge Link

Thanks for reading.

@steemmatt

Sort:  

Wow! I am beyond grateful to be mentioned in this post. I never hesitated to give you something I felt you deserved. You and the group have helped motivate me to accomplish greater levels in my fitness journey and of course accountability. Thank you for everything and keeping the daily challenge updated daily. You are the real MVP @steemmatt!!!!

Aww shucks it's nice to get a mention in your post, I try to support as much as I can which can be annoying as some people never up vote me back.
But I purchased an extra 100 SP for the next 2 weeks so everyone can enjoy just a little bit extra.

now for old @notorious562 that's just amazing, really selfless of him. I knew there was a reason why I up vote all his stuff :)

@steemmatt - you have a lot of heart bro. I feel honored to be part of your fitness challenge.

Wow !!
Great inspiration@steemmatt
Humanity could be a virtue related to basic ethics of unselfishness derived from the human condition.

Will repeat the same statement
Loose calories to gain SBd
Run for humanity

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.030
BTC 68342.52
ETH 3806.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.63