You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Letting Fun Disrupt Your Status Quo

in #inspiration6 years ago

Great post.

It makes you wonder if saying yes to something small now, could turn into something big later.

Like you beautifully illustrate, I have found so many examples in my own life how something I thought was a dead-end turns into a delightful new path. You'd think I'd have learned my lesson by now.

I'm getting there. But thanks for the reminder to embrace those moments.

My friend and I actually did that paperclip trade-up once. In a few hours we had a riding lawn mower! Pretty amazing stuff.

Sort:  

I have found so many examples in my own life how something I thought was a dead-end turns into a delightful new path. You'd think I'd have learned my lesson by now.

It's so hard to break the pattern of seeing something at face value and thinking that is the end of it. I think the only antidote is to embrace uncertainty and give air time to those less than likely possibilities, noticing when your intuition tells you there's more than meets the eye here.

My friend and I actually did that paperclip trade-up once. In a few hours we had a riding lawn mower!

Wow that's amazing!!! The crazy thing is that even with hearing these stories I still think "if I did it I'd probably get nothing worthwhile." I must really be stuck on the idea that a paerclip is worth a paperclip, or that negotiating trades is hard. Interesting... I'll have to reflect more on this.

give air time to those less than likely possibilities

That's a nice way of putting it!

And my friend and I were young teenagers at the time, so it probably came across with a different sentiment to most than if a grown man approached them, lol. Still, I think you are right that there is more here than meets the eyes. #OptimusPrime

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.15
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 54140.93
ETH 2422.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.12