You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: How Wishing the Best for Others Can Bring Out the Best You

in #inspiration6 years ago

This is awesome. It really fills me up to have played even a small part in this story. Obviously, you are the one doing the work and should be commended for that. Thank you for sharing openly about this journey in your life.

Simple. You stop wanting things from them, and start wanting things for them.

Way easier said than done, but yes, it is that simple.
I love you closing line:

you will no longer feel “less than” when someone else gets something you want. You will feel like you’ve got it now too, because you were right there with them, rooting all the way.

Being able to truly share in the happiness of others, especially when it might feel like happiness is a scarce resource and they are taking some of it off the table, is a real sign of emotional maturity and stability.

Good work!

Sort:  

It really fills me up to have played even a small part in this story.

Isn't it awesome when you're writing makes an impact on someone unexpectedly? I try to remind myself of this whenever I'm doing something that feels hard or that I'm not able to get to the level of quality I like. "If this just has a positive impact on one person it's worthwhile."

Being able to truly share in the happiness of others, especially when it might feel like happiness is a scarce resource and they are taking some of it off the table, is a real sign of emotional maturity and stability.

Wow, well said. This is also something easier said than done! But once you truly get it, it makes total sense. And it kind of reminds me of the quote from "Into the Wild"

Happiness only real when shared.

At first I thought that meant that it's important to share your happiness with others. But now I'm realizing that you can do this simply by sharing in someone else's happiness!

Great food for thought, as always @ssimkins9!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.14
TRX 0.12
JST 0.025
BTC 53375.38
ETH 2393.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.15