Losing Sympathizers

in #inspiration6 years ago

When I was a very little boy, I used to get bullied by peers both at home and in school.
Because of my small stature, it was very easy to 'handle' me.
My mates would usually beat me and collect my things and there was nothing I could do about that.
There was this particular boy in my compound named Joel, his own was much. He was my worst bully and he was my age mate and classmate.
Each time he bullied me, I would cry to my Aunt who will tell me sorry and then buy me biscuits to make me stop crying. She will always tell me to 'leave him for God'.
It happened one time that Joel beat me and I had a cut on my lips. Unfortunately for me, my aunt was not around but my mum's brother, Uncle Kay was at home.
With tears in my eyes and blood on my lips, I ran to Uncle Kay.
After explaining what happened, I expected Uncle Kay to follow me to beat Joel or at least buy me biscuits to make me stop crying but it wasn't so.
He added to the beating and told me I was to be ashamed for allowing my mate beat me that way.
He told me the next time I allow Joel beat me, he would strangle me.
On hearing this, I had to make a choice.
Was I ready to be strangled by Uncle Kay?
Hell no!
So a day after, as usual, Joel came and forcefully took my catapult from me.
As he turned to leave, I pulled him back but he landed a heavy blow on my jaw.
I was about to start crying when I saw Uncle Kay looking at me from the window of our flat.
Immediately I remembered that if I let this pass, Uncle Kay was going to strangle me.
So with the stones of the catapult with me, I smashed Joel's forehead and within seconds, he was bleeding.
I pounced on him. With anger and excitement mixed together in the frenzy of the moment, I beat Joel to a pulp.
As Uncle Kay came to separate us, I saw a smile at the corner of his lips. He was proud of me.
The news travelled to school and that was the last time anyone messed with me up till now. Lol


The reason why most of us are not ready to do anything to our problems is because we have someone sympathizing with us, buying us 'biscuits' and telling us sorry.
The reason why you are still broke is probably because there's someone who always gives you money whenever you go to beg.
The day that your sympathiser stops and you have no where else to turn, you will receive godly sense and hustle for yours.
Some kids are wayward and reckless because they still have their parents meeting their every need, giving them all they need when they cry.
I pray you don't loose them before you receive sense and start to do some things for yourself and by yourself.
Will you continue enjoying sympathy or you will rise up and face your challenges and fears?
The choice is yours.

Sort:  

I'm really touched by this story, and it's got a powerful message to relay. We've got to stand for ourselves and stand for what we believe, instead of looking to people to sweet-talk us, out of that situation, when we could have stand on our feet and that situation will be no more.

Thanks for sharing @oohtee, I'm really moved by this.

I appreciate you for reading. Thank you.

An eye opener. I love this. Keep steeming

Thank you for reading.

Congratulations @oohtee! You received a personal award!

1 Year on Steemit

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @oohtee! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 59216.84
ETH 2526.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52