You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Never Be a "Full-Time" Employee | Why You Should Keep Things From Your Boss

in #inspiration6 years ago

I struggle with time. All. the. time.

There is no way to make more time, no way to make my body outperform beyond it's reserves and only so much mental energy to go around.

I really need my mornings to do my best work, my best writing for the things I want to see changed. But, I have to go to my job -- where I must write for them instead.

I've tried to work around it in many ways. None of it matters once that mental battery is depleted for the day. Yesterday, I couldn't remember a word my friend had used in a conversation just the day before. In the morning, I could remember the word, but not in the afternoon or even (well it's now two days later) now do I remember the word.

Ideally, I could work 20-25 hours a week for someone else, in the afternoons. Until then, 40-50 hours is really 60-65 with the commute. Errands after work? Chores at home that need to be done? (Spent my weekend doing home repairs again wishing instead I was writing for Steemit).

And by the very end of the day? No more mental battery left.

It's frustrating.

Sort:  

I hear you. I actually do my best work in the evenings, but the same principle applies. I would love to go part-time, and my job does actually offer that on a case-by-case determination. I may explore it a little down the road. People like @jakeybrown who just told me that he went to 30 hrs, M-W, encourage me to find solutions that don't involve just quitting outright. Haha.

But like you say, it is more than just time. It really is mental and emotional space and energy. You cannot perform for all of your waking hours. There has to be rest.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 64542.61
ETH 3460.20
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.51