Being Your Own Hero

I look around today at society. I see people down on their luck, I watch people as they pay for their groceries, with me wondering if they are about to spend their last dollar just to get food in their and their family's belly. I see the worry that they try to cover with a fake smile to pretend that they have it all together. But I know the truth because I have been there. Growing up, my sisters and I bounced from pillow to post because there wasn't enough money to pay the rent. We moved around more than a military family trying to escape poverty, only to be greeted by it at the next stop. I saw the worry, stress and tears on my mother's face as she would wonder how we would get through another month; if we would get through it at all. It were dark times those days. Now I see that same fear on the faces of people around me. I hear them talk about "let's vote for this President! No let's vote for this President! They have better policies; they will look out for us little guys!" I feel bad because we are all looking for that hero, that savior to come and rescue us out of whatever hell we are going through. But we continually become disappointed in the results we never see because the expections we have of others can't and probably will never be met 100% or if at all. I learned the hard way that trying to designate someone to be your hero will only lead to disappointment and broken promises that they probably had no intentions on keeping anyway. So maybe instead of us looking for someone to come to our rescue, we should stop, turn around and come to our own.

Sort:  

Hi! This post has a Flesch-Kincaid grade level of 6.7 and reading ease of 81%. This puts the writing level on par with Stephen King and Dan Brown.

Hello! Thank you for your reply. I have to admit I have never heard of the Flesch-Kincaid readability test. I instantly went on google to see what it was. So thank you for teaching me something new! Oh and I'm a fan of Stephen King along with Edgar Allan Poe.

@isaac.asimov is a bot, no need to reply to his automated posts.

Other than that Welcome to Steemit :)

Oh thanx! I figured that. But wasn't sure!

I upvote U

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 59388.79
ETH 2578.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47