Motivational Monday: 5 of my favorite Jim Rohn Quotes (with commentary)steemCreated with Sketch.

Success or the lack thereof starts with one's mind!

Therefore I like to read things like biographies of successful people, listen to inspirational speeches, read a book on personal development every once in a while. Or rather listen to it on audio.

I think it's important you fill your mind with the positives, instead of dwelling on the negatives.

So today, I'd like to share 5 of my favority Jim Rohn quotes.

5 Jim Rohn 5.png

If you're gonna be successful at anything, you'll need to manage your time well.

I'll be the first to admit this is an area of struggle for me. I can get distracted easily, and sometimes it's procrastination that blocks me from doing the things I want and should be doing. With the horrible regret and "I know what to do, why can't I get myself to do it" type of sulking...

As it's an area of improvement, I'd like this quote to remind myself I have the choice to be productive. Even if it's the more difficult option.

4 Jim Rohn 4.png

This one for me is a no-brainer on the list.

It may sound a bit counter-intuitive for a university dropout to say this, but I firmly believe you should be learning something new. Every. Single. Day. Period. Exclamation mark!

I'm not sure who you are, or where you live, or what your goals are...

but YOU do!

Take the time to figure out what you really want to get out of life. Then you'll be able to know what skills you need to acquire to be able to get there.

Next:

Make it a habit to study these subjects for at least 30 minutes each and every day. Not because I, a complete stranger on the internet told you to. Do it with the knowledge that this will put you one step closer to living your dream life with each day that you practice this habit. If you're reading this you have access to the internet, you have a vast amount of knowledge at your fingertips, and you know you're worthy of building a better tomorrow. Today!

Jim Rohn 3.png

You may wonder why I chose this picture (no it's not clickbait).

Think about people that decide to quit smoking, and never smoke another cigarette after that.

Something made them stop their bad habit. Perhaps it's because someone just got their first child, and doesn't want the smoking to affect his or her health. And so a definite resolution was made: NO MORE!

I too had one of those moments recently:

The sports team I coach had recently become the champs, and of course I was very proud and happy! However, I didn't feel that happy when I was looking at the pictures that were taken that day a week later. I noticed myself in one of the pictures... and I was NOT amused with the way I looked. My man boobs & a beer belly were really noticeable there.

I decided: This HAS to change!

Ever since that decision, I've completely quit drinking soda altogether. I've picked up running for twice a week and also do some other exercise (see matches the picture). Right now I only eat 1 bowl or small packet of chips only after I've done my workout for that day. Instead of 1, sometimes 2, on almost every day.

My point is:

It's a sacrifice I needed to make. Yes, I like eating some of the less healthy food. Yes, I like the soda better than the water sitting next to me. And so far I'm not exactly liking the exercise. But I know that it's the pain of discipline that I need to endure to get better at it and to lose that weight.

Maybe you've been there.
Maybe you're still there.

And maybe, you're making the choice to suffer from discipline. Rather than having to look in retrospect at how you didn't reach the goals you wanted to reach. The goals that you COULD have reach, if it was just for making one choice and backing it up with discipline!

It's yours...
The choice is yours...

Will you suffer the discipline or the regret?

2 Jim Rohn 2.png

Continuing on from #3:

How much I hate the extra running, and how bad my stamina still is, I do notice there's been an improvement. In about 5 weeks, I was able to bring my average speed down from around 5 minutes per kilometer to about 4:30-4:45. Still doing the same distance and getting just a little bit easier each week.

No matter what you're gonna do in life, you're gonna be bad at first.

I'd want you to remember this is only temporary. You're gonna get better. You're gonna get good. And you're gonna get GREAT! All you gotta do is be consistent in applying the steps it takes to reach that goal you set for yourself.

Plant a tiny acorn and given enough time, you will have a big strong oak.

It's not magical, it's not mystical. It's the force of nature. In the same way you will get good at whatever you set your mind to AND back it up with consistent action! Your success isn't gonna happen over night, but as long as you're diligent and patient, you too will grow into your biggest strongest self.

1 Jim Rohn 1.png

Do you know what happens to most people that win the lottery?

Having no experience with handling money, and more importantly don't have the right mindset for it. They often spend it in a short period of time and go back to the level of wealth they are COMFORTABLE with. They're not a rich person, in their mind, no matter what their banker may tell them.

It's great to have goals and to aim for them. By all means, take that ACTION!

But I'd like you to stop for just a second. Stop for a moment and really think. Ask yourself: what kind of person do I have to become to reach my goal? What does this person do? How does he or she live? What makes him/her the person that has achieved this goal?

Maybe you want to do better financially.

Instead of chasing down money, think who you'd need to become. Rich people often are avid readers and learners. They need this to stay ahead of everyone else. They're networkers, they have discipline, they know only they can get them the results they want and take responsibility.

Now ask yourself, honestly:

Do I have the qualities of someone who would achieve my goals no matter what?

If not, you now know which road to take....

Will you take it?

Conclusion

I know it's a long read and honestly, I didn't think it would be this long.

When I started typing this message I zoned out so to speak, the words came naturally to me. Spoken out of the heart with a burning desire to inspire you. To help you see the light that illuminates some of the darkness around and that it will guide you to a better tomorrow.

I really do hope I've been able to inspire you into action, and if only one person makes a lasting change in their life, then I consider my job here successful. Although I hope to impact way more than that.

If you got the motivation you needed for your breakthrough, then please share this with somebody that you know needs to hear this message.

Thank you for reading!

And remember: Building a better tomorrow isn't about the future, it's about what you're doing RIGHT NOW in the present!

Sort:  

Congratulations @maikelmichiels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Congratulations @maikelmichiels! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got your First payout
Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.17
JST 0.033
BTC 64475.77
ETH 2770.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66