How Reading Can Improve Your Knowledge and Successfulness in Life

in #inspiration6 years ago (edited)

Lately I have been looking into more opportunities for how I can further my knowledge and improve who I am as a person.
In my search for ways to do both, I found out something that caught my attention and truly interested me:

One of the keys to self-improvement and improving overall knowledge is reading!

Whenever I looked further into the benefits of reading, I found out there is a huge list of successful individuals who read daily and highly encourage it.

Bill Gates reads approximately 50 non-fiction books a year (which breaks down to about 1 a week).

Mark Cuban reads more than 3 hours every day.

Oprah Winfrey selects a book (if not more) every single month to read and discuss with her private book club.

There are many more successful individuals who enjoy reading as a pastime, but some common factors about the books they read are that they are typically non-fiction educational or self-improvement books.

"But how," you may ask, can I find time to fit in all of this reading, if any at all?

That answer truly is up to you, and it depends on both your willingness and your schedule.
There are many ways to find opportunities for reading, it is simply your choice on what best works for you.

Personally, I have begun my own reading journey and commitment to read one non-fiction book at least every 2 weeks.
So far I have been on the reading journey for 1 month and feel more educated and enlightened!

Here are the 2 books I have read:

Getting Things Done, The Art of Stress Free Productivity, by David Allen:

And,

The 7 Habits of Highly Effective People, by Stephen Covey:

Those were both some great reads and I highly recommend them!
And you know, I don't really have a whole lot of spare time on my hands--but I found the spare time I did have and invested it into reading.
For instance whenever I take public transportation I can read up to 30 or more pages, or when I'm in a waiting office, or my lunchbreak, or simply reading for 30 minutes before bed; It all adds up.

Reading is exercise for your mind and can do wonders for your life.

So I encourage you to find a book that is meaningful to you, find the time to thoroughly read it, and find out for yourself the many benefits reading holds for you 💗

Yours Truly,
Sarah Nicole ❤

Joseph Addison's Picture Quote
George RR Martin Quote
Reading Quote

Sort:  

Reading brings many benefits, makes you more cultured, gives you more knowledge, you will have better conversation topics, besides nourishing your brain, preventing some diseases.
I particularly love reading, the one about the 7 habits, I have it and I have read it.
Allen's looks interesting.

I agree with you!
Reading is very beneficial in many ways and is good for the mind. The 7 Habits book is a very good read and I hope you find time to read the other one by Allen as well!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59820.46
ETH 2409.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.42