Why can’t we all be like The Little Prince?

in #inspiration7 years ago

The other day I re-watched the animated film adaptation of The Little Prince, and I have A LOT OF FEELINGS ABOUT IT.

93b.jpg

First of all, if you’ve never read the novella, you absolutely should go do that RIGHT NOW. Go ahead, I’ll wait.

Littleprince.jpg

I can’t say that I’ve ever been touched by a story as much as I have with this one, and I’m not sure if I can even pinpoint what makes it so compelling. I think the first time I read it, when I was a child, I didn’t fully grasp its brilliance. Having re-read the story as an adult it’s definitely something that has stuck with me. There’s just so much! The way that Antoine de Saint-Exupéry observes life and describes human nature is so simple yet complex, and entirely relatable. It’s heartening to think about life in this way, broken down to the core principles of humanity and human compassion/morality. In times like this especially I think we all need a reminder that “One sees clearly only with the heart. The essential is invisible to the eye.”

I mean, FUCK.

tenor.gif

Coming back to the reason I thought to write this post. Overall, I think the film did a fantastic job bringing the story to life. Here's a trailer for those of you who haven't seen it:

Everything from the different animation styles (LIKE, DAYUMMM), voiceover talent, and sound design was spot on. I thought it was incredibly smart the way they told the story from the perspective of a little girl who has a single working mom and is constantly pressured to conform to the high standards of society. She befriends her new next door neighbor, who is an elderly version of the man who wrote the story of The Little Prince. The addition of The Little Girl adds another level to the already poignant themes of the novella. Life can be stressful, and people conform to such insane societal norms and forget the true nature of what life is supposed to be. My favorite line that exemplifies this concept is “Growing up is not the problem. Forgetting is”

DOUBLE SOB
tenor.gif tenor.gif

SPOILER ALERT My one minor complaint is that towards the end of the film we see The Little Prince as an adult, and he is nothing like the person he used to be. Don’t get me wrong, I love me some Paul Rudd (YES THAT WAS HIM)
Screen Shot 2017-12-12 at 2.30.33 PM.pngI KNOW RIGHT?! [MAXX TOTES]
...and I get that they were trying to show how growing up can make people forget, and that they want the main character to help remind him of how life should be. But do you really think The Little Prince, an ambiguous character not from this planet who is supposed to represent an all-knowing guiding force would turn into a janitor?? I mean, COME ON. They could have cut out that whole section of the film and I think it would have been perfect.

I’d love to hear your thoughts on this, and the story in general, and I hope someday we can all be more like The Little Prince.

Until next time!

-JShwag

okthxbaiii <3

sources for images:
http://knowyourmeme.com/photos/421566-feels
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Little_Prince
https://tenor.com/search/sob-sobbing-gifs
http://www.imdb.com/title/tt1754656/

Sort:  

My ex was obsessed with this french novel. She was actually obsessed with most french things. Now that I think of it, my current partner is also obsessed with french things. Maybe the essential things are all french...and you need your heart so you can see them... Hm. I'll eat a baguette and get back to you on that.

Thanks for the fun post here @jshwag! Would love to hear your thoughts regarding my recent post about the power of perception: How To Use the Google Search Engine Of Your Mind To Find What You Want Most In Life

Thanks! I'll check it out!

That's my favorite book too, and if I could re-edit the film I would cut from the moment the little girl takes off in the airplane to the moment the little prince is made young again on his planet.

It'd be slightly jarring, but it would make me happy.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.14
JST 0.028
BTC 57297.27
ETH 3101.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.41