I HATE Fridays!

in #inspiration7 years ago

When I worked in a 9-5 job, all I lived for was that sweet taste of Friday afternoon.

MMM...

2 whole days off to not think about work and spend away from the office and the inhabitants of said office (many I didn't care much for)...

This is the mantra of American society. Friday Friday, gotta get down on Friday!

Remember that song?

There's even a flippin' restaurant named after the love of Friday! TGIF!


Think about this...what if you woke up on Saturdays HATING that it was Saturday.

You actually WANTED it to be Monday again. You'd probably look at me like:

Well, that's my life. I love spending time with my family on the weekends and in the evenings. But, a part of me always wishes it's Monday again to continue pushing towards my goals.

See, I work for myself. Self-employed. No employees, just me.

It's hard work, yes.

But, here's the benefits:

---> Make more money each month
---> I enjoy what I do for a living
---> I make my own schedule

At a 9-5, I'd get in trouble if I left the office for 20 minutes! As if I was in kindergarten or something.
Have work done at the house? PTO
Kid sick? PTO


Here's a test for you...if you adore Fridays and despise Mondays...

It's time for a change.

This isn't a "Preach" post. I've just seen so many Facebook posts today about "Thank God it's Friday".

Here's what you will spend time doing this weekend

---> Turn off Netflix
---> Grab a pad of paper
----> Start writing : "What do I absolutely love doing?"
---> Write out 3 action steps you can take

Now, you're thinking: I did this in 5th grade and it's gotten me nowhere!

Want examples?

  1. Enjoy baking? --- your 3 action steps involve first mastering just ONE baked item. A drip cake? A cheesecake cupcake? Whatever. Start mastering!

2.) Open an Etsy shop for my beaded necklaces? ---> Master 1-2 types of necklaces because those are the only ones you're going to sell. You're going to become known as the X beaded person.

3.) I want to write music and be an actor! ---> Write out 52 weeks of activities you're going to do and post them on YouTube. Write out 52 videos you will create and post. These will hone your craft, get your comfortable, help you experience failure, get you a sample set, and test how far you will go to do this.

If you're not looking forward to getting back to work on Monday, make this weekend a life-changer!

Sort:  

Good, motivating post. Thanks!

Thanks! It's a big mindset shift. Took me many years, but it makes life so much better!

Hey Joe!

Love your post and the whole idea of looking forward to Mondays. The past couple weeks or so I've ventured into creating a self-employed revenue stream as well, which is completely uncharted territory for myself. It is definitely exciting and motivating, and makes me look forward to each day not just Friday.

Enjoyed reading your post, sir!

Thanks kccrypto!

I spent years toiling away at "playing business." It wasted a bunch of time.

It wasn't until I focused on 1 business and vowed to give it at least 3 years before quitting that things took off.

Unsolicited advice: Stick to something for at least 1 year before bailing. You'll start seeing some huge benefits!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.031
BTC 59232.58
ETH 2523.47
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.47