MY INSPIRATION (PART 2 OF 7): TUPAC SHAKUR

All my life I’ve heard about Tupac. Of course he was already dead by the time I was born and 22 years after his death, he remains the Greatest of All Time. I’m a rapper but I do not admire Tupac because a he was a rapper. I admire Tupac because of his beliefs and ingenuity. Tupac was leader.

Just because you don’t understand it doesn’t mean I’m wrong.

Tupac 1.jpg

image source

NAME: Tupac Amaru Shakur
BORN: June 16, 1971
DIED: September 13, 1996 (25 years old)
CAUSE OF DEATH: Shooting
GENRES: Hip Hop / Gangsta Rap

I watched this movie “All eyez on me”. It was about the life and achievements of Tupac. Of course Tupac was born in dark times for black people. The whites were still oppressing the blacks and Tupac’s mother was a revolutionary leader. So Tupac grew up with this sense of leadership and that is why Tupac is an inspiration to me. Tupac fought for black people, fought for the poor. Unlike modern artist who sing about women, drugs, Tupac sang about the real thing happening on the street. Of course he had his down times, I mean he went to jail for a crime he did not commit and even at that he didn’t give up.

I’m not going to change the way I rap, you all want the fake shit. My songs are about the shit black people are going through downtown. So you either sign me or let me be.

Tupac was relentless in his efforts to speak for the people.

He’s the voice of the Hood

I don't have no fear of death. My only fear is coming back reincarnated.

Tupac 2.jpg

image source

I see myself in Tupac. I was born with this “gift” of leadership. I’m a very social person. Back in secondary school, I was very popular. You know one thing that comes in popularity is you begin to hang out with the other popular kids and snub the others. But I wasn’t like that. I was different. No matter who you are, where you’re from, how rich your parents are, I saw everyone as equals. And I was always neutral to things. I don’t want to be President, I don’t want to be a Governor or a Senator, I just want to be the VOICE OF THE AFRICA. I think it’s time Africa stood up and take charge of our continent. It’s time we put our children in school, it’s time we stop allowing this westerners influence our culture. It’s time we dedicate our time to making Africa a better place.

My friend once told me; if we were to go back to secondary school and vote on who is likely going to succeed in future, you’d be one of those topping the list. But I’m not your friend because I know you’re going to succeed and I’m looking for favours. I’m your friend because you don’t care about social status and you see everyone as equals.

Tupac 3.jpg

image source

It's the game of life. Do I win or do I lose? One day they're gonna shut the game down. I gotta have as much fun and go around the board as many times as I can before it's my turn to leave.

All I'm trying to do is survive and make good out of the dirty, nasty, unbelievable lifestyle that they gave me.

Is it a crime, to fight, for what is mine?

Before Tupac died, he lost his way. His style of music changed. Started making diss tracks and I understand. He was frustrated, too many attempts on his life, he was betrayed by his “hommies” and he was tired. He was trying to make a statement. Unfortunately, the good ones die young and I say this because a year after Notorious B.I.G was already being compared to Tupac as The Greatest of All Time but was killed that same year by shooting.

Who killed Tupac. Who Killed my Hero.

Did the same group of people kill Notorious B.I.G.

Is this Coup to kill Black leaders.

Tupac 4.jpg

image source

9 Platinum Albums
7 Posthumous Albums
75 million Albums Sold
713 Songs
7 Movies
All by the age of 25

Tupac was an inspiration to not just me but to the world but unlike Tupac I’m not going to lose my way.

5 things I’ve learnt from Tupac

  • Never give up
  • You don’t have to be President before you can be heard, use your gift and you’ll be heard.
  • Never do drugs.
  • Don’t let the world dictate to you. Just be you.
  • Do not fear death.
Sort:  

Carefully selected words.
Undiluted geniuity.
I'm deeply inspired and motivated by this write up.

I look forward to more posts like this from you.

5 more parts to go ...

I never know this much about Tupac. Am inspired

I'm really really inspired
Although I didn't know this much about Tupac
Thanks @host.the.freak

Nice piece... Watching out for the next episode.

Lit words
Motivated

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 55758.52
ETH 2348.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.31