We All Serve a God: Who (or What) is Yours?

in #inspiration6 years ago

Did you know that everyone, including so-called atheists, serve a god, or gods?

We humans are incredibly prideful. When we have everything going for ourselves, we believe it is because we did something to deserve it. I don't blame anyone that feels this way; it is simply a matter of the human condition.

But when we experience severe hardships is when we realize who we really are: weak, rudderless individuals seeking desperate answers to our lives that are spiraling out of control.

This is the point when we reach out to a higher power. My question is, who (or what) is it?

Money and Big Pharma

Many atheists may scoff at the notion that they subconsciously serve a god, but they do.

For instance, when they become ill or diseased, they rush to the god of Big Pharma. In their minds, the pharmaceutical industry's artificial concoctions of exotic (and toxic) formulations will cure most things of which they are afflicted.

And if something is incurable, they resign themselves to death rather than acknowledge the Creator of the Universe. How sad.

Or consider the Wall Street hot shot. His god is the almighty dollar. Money becomes his all-in-all, his solution to every challenge in life.

But as soon as the markets turn against him, it's gone in a heartbeat.

The Question Remains

The issue of whether or not you serve a god is moot; you already do.

The heart of the matter is who or what that god is.

If you truly want to make progress in life, you have to be honest with yourself about this standing question. Most people will spend their entire lifetimes ignoring it, which I think is incredibly and devastatingly tragic.

The first step to true wisdom is acknowledging your servitude; then, you must decide if whom you serve is worthy of it.
Sort:  

If you don't stand for something, You'll fall for anything! I follow God with a big G meaning He has a real name Yeshua (aka Jesus). One question I always pose to a non believer is, "Do you believe in satan?" and most will say OH YEAH! So how can someone believe in evil but not believe in Good?

Preach it brother, not all people will accept what they can’t see. That is why it is called faith! I agree with you people will say they believe in Satan but not God. Doesn’t make sense

iowabuckd---You are right that it doesn't make sense because it's made up bullshit. Most people that don't believe in a god are also very unlikely to believe in Santa Claus or Satan or any other imaginary people.

And firstjabi, I dare you to ask ME if I believe in Satan... hahaha It's easy to make claims when no actual non-believers are around to defend themselves, but here I am, a real non-believer, and will you ask me that question? I highly doubt it and if you do, then I'm guessing you can tell that my answer is and would be NO, I do NOT believe in Satan or Jesus as being real people or deities or ghosts or whatever you want to call them.

I know biblical characters, etc., exist as CONCEPTS or artistic creations like paintings, but are you aware that not all concepts correlate to things in reality? Otherwise the concept of flying elephants would mean that elephants could actually fly. (hint: they can't and they don't)

I stand for humanity, intelligence and being honest about the universe around us all.

dream.jpg

Loading...

@lundgreenman I gotta admit your one of the first people I've met or seen that says Jesus was not a real person and in your words a CONCEPT. You must be ignorant to history as well. I thought everyone agreed (as history proves)He was a real person and the debate was then as now as to He was Son of God. Even Islam teaches Jesus was a great prophet

Islam/Quran are not reliable sources or valid evidence of historical people or things and neither is Christianity/the bible. I'm not ignorant of history (but obviously don't know it all, since none of us do) and MOST historians are still arguing over whether or not Jesus was a real person. And NO historians are claiming that Jesus was a supernatural person, except religious people.

Some historians say he could have been a real man or several men named Jesus, (Yeshua/Joshua/Jehovah/etc.) others say he was just a fictional character invented by the authors of the bible, (I tend to agree with them) and others say a lot of other things but the most important factor is not what any of them have said, but what does the EVIDENCE reliably show and unfortunately for you, it doesn't show enough of anything to back up your claim that "everyone agrees" about this. (otherwise Christians could get rid of the idea of faith all together since "Jesus" would be 100% proven to be real and what would be the point of faith then?)

May I suggest that you are clueless of aspects of history and that those things have been filtered out and whitewashed by the power/control agendas of churches/priests/etc., who would like to keep you ignorant of the FULL history and debate about these things?

History doesn't prove anything. Proof comes from logic plus evidence. The arguments in favor of a supernatural Jesus are not logical and there is ZERO evidence of any supernatural people named Jesus. (human imaginations/old-time stories don't count as evidence or proof)burden of proof-religion.jpg

To be blunt, the broader "freedom from religion" movement is just fancy code-word for anti-Christian. Not all (Richard Dawkins is surprisingly an exception), but most anti-religion folks are aligned with the liberal, globalist agenda, and will do anything to stop Christianity, and only Christianity.

You don't see too many atheists go up in arms about head chopping and violent suppression of women that's occurring right now!

Speaking again for atheists as if you are some kind of authority? Dude! Just STOP, Please?

Saying that atheists only target Christianity is yet another BULLSHIT claim from you. (and it's you playing the victim card when atheists are much more likely to be treated like shit, shunned, misrepresented, misinterpreted and discriminated against by Christians than vice versa) I personally know many atheists (myself included) that fight the bad parts of EVERY religion and also EVERY religious belief anywhere on the planet is subject to being judged and condemned depending on how exactly shitty the ideas or practices are on any given day of the week.

And there are atheists on the front lines of the fight against superstition, abuse and horrible religious/human behavior and for you to pretend they don't exist is insulting but not surprising since you don't seem to actually be all too reasonable about these issues.
hell-no-fear-good-company.jpg

@firstjabi ----You don't know many non-believers, do you? I'm an atheist and that means I not only don't believe in a god, but I don't believe in other fairy tale characters like satan or talking snakes or any other supernatural nonsense. I believe that HUMANS can be evil and some are but it doesn't require a belief in satan for people to become evil, just ask all the people who lived before Christianity was even invented or who were raised in countries that never heard of Jesus. They did plenty of evil but also many were good people and they did that also without Christianity. In fact, more than 3/4 of people on the planet right now are NOT Christians and most of them are working hard at living good, loving, moral and decent lives.

morality foundation.jpg

I sincerely don't get why you're so emotionally triggered. You serve your god, which I assume is science and the universe. I serve mine. We have differences of opinion...so what? With your constant spamming on my channel, you're acting like a childish jerk.

I have the free speech right to defend my beliefs or lack of beliefs just like you have the right to defend yours. Why did you make this post if you didn't want an honest and open conversation about these topics?

I sincerely don't get why you're so against people having emotions. Yes, ALL humans get emotionally "triggered" sometimes, but I'm not sure what your point is? Do you never have ANY emotional responses to anything? Are you trying to insult me by saying that I have emotions? hahaha :P

Playing games with definitions about what is or is not a "god" doesn't make you right just because you keep repeating it. I serve NO gods. (no matter how you personally want to define what a "god" is. That is not how words work, last time I checked anyway)

Why do you feel the need to demand that I serve some kind of a god?

submission not respect.jpg

You talk about defending freedom of speech, yet you flag my post because it doesn't agree with your world view? That's rich!

I flagged your post because you are targeting atheists with libel and slander and falsehoods. (hate speech from my perspective) Freedom of speech includes the freedom to condemn anyone else's opinions or ideas. You are obviously free to disagree with me since it's clearly obvious that you do. So should only YOU have freedom of speech but not me or anyone else that disagrees with your opinions? Freedom of speech doesn't mean freedom from consequences or rebuttals.

freedom of speech.jpg

Hate speech? Now YOU are the one who libels! I would highly recommend you just leave; otherwise, I may consider cleaning up my comments section from all your spam garbage.

Did your post really have the intent to be honest about and treat atheists with any level of actual respect? Or were you just hating on atheists because they don't believe what you believe? If you were just spreading hatred of atheists, then THAT is HATE speech. How hard is that for you to understand? This is my final post to you unless you really want to discuss this further. I hope we can all learn to be more tolerant and honest in our interactions with each other. Thanks and goodbye! :)

Is this true @lundgreenman?
If so, that is bad form.

From the Etiquette Guide mentioned n the Steemit FAQ

#14) Don't flag content just because you disagree or don't like it
This is a big issue and I'm sure some people will disagree with it but I think the majority of the community agrees that the flag issue is for posts which are harmful or abusive and should not be used as a dislike or downvote button. Don't like something? Post a comment explaining why or if you can't be bothered to do that or don't have the time move on.

I'm fairly new here on Steemit, so I don't know if you can unflag something. If you can, and if you flagged this @bullishmoney post, you should remove it.

And yes, the author of the guide @thecryptofiend states

...these ARE guidelines not RULES.

  • So you are free to do as you please, but...
    • Not that you care, but if you don't, I will no longer hold a conversation with you. Sorry, I agree with the Guide on this point.

If you click on the flag, you will see that one of the reasons they state for a valid use of it is when you believe a post to be hate speech. I'm fine if you disagree with me but try to see it from my perspective. What if I wrote the same post but you swapped out the word atheist for Christian and then ask yourself if you would or would not consider it hate speech? Thanks for your honesty and I'm well aware of Steemit etiquette and don't flag things just because I disagree with something or don't like it. You can check my record and see that I have only ever flagged things RARELY so it's not like I'm rudely flagging people for no good reasons. Thanks for your input and opinions! :)

I have the free speech right ..

@lundgreenman where did that right come from?
I believe in this statement from the Declaration of Independence...

We hold these truths to be self-evident, that all men are created equal, that they are endowed by their Creator with certain unalienable Rights, that among these are Life, Liberty and the pursuit of Happiness.

Where do you think rights come from?

Rights come from human agreements and how we best decide to treat each other. Most of the countries back then that were Christian, did NOT believe in freedom of speech or equality. In other words, the more free-thinking/liberal founders of the USA (humans) decided to value freedom of speech and the other rights they enumerated later on in the U.S. Constitution.

By the way, the Declaration of Independence was simply an opinion declaration against England (real HUMANS had to actually fight to get independence. there were no gods doing it for us) and did not establish any of the laws of the land in the USA (otherwise, why was there still slavery which directly contradicts the all men being created equal part?) and the Constitution had ZERO references to any god or creator as being the authority for those rights listed in the Bill of Rights and the other laws/government order.

It was WE, THE PEOPLE who decided what our rights were (based in natural/socially/democratically agreed upon laws) and what we should aspire for them to be in the future. Also, if a god wanted us to have those rights, why did it supposedly wait until 1776 to communicate that to humans who also happened to want those exact same freedoms on their own? (no gods, no beliefs in a god, no priests/masters, and no need for religious faith was needed for our freedoms is my main point)

Constitutional rights is a misnomer.

  • Neither the Constitution or any government can grant rights.
  • The first 10 amendments to the Constitution (the so-called Bill of Rights) are simply limitations placed on the American Federal Government that they cannot infringe on rights.

I believe rights are natural law.
Meaning,

  • no government can give or take away these rights.
  • we cannot democratically or otherwise change them.

You mentioned the slaves.

  • Did they have the right to be a free man? Yes
  • Did the fact they were slaves, mean they did not have this right? No
    • Did the 14th amendment "free the slaves?" No
      • It simply made other people stop trampling on their right to be a free man.

I agree that our rights stem from/exist within the framework of natural law. I also see them as outgrowths from our human brains/social interactions.

The author of the original post recommended for me to stop posting here and just leave (he doesn't seem to like atheists much or maybe just me, which is highly understandable, hahaha) so if you feel like you want to talk more on this or any other topics, then feel free to go to and comment on any posts on my blog and we can continue the conversation there. (I mostly post art stuff but also a few other kinds of things)

Hope to see you there in the future some time! Please don't feel obliged to upvote or follow me or anything like that. Take it easy! :)

If you truly hate atheists (or just me) so much and don't want me to speak anymore on your channel, then I will stop. Feel free to mute me and I will do the same. I prefer civil and open-ended conversations (not spamming you or being a childish jerk) but if you prefer to only talk with religious people, then I'm adult enough to be fine with that. Let me know what you honestly want? Thanks. :)

Please don't tell atheists who or what they do or don't serve. No atheists asked you to represent us as a group or individually. Stop pretending like everyone in the world must think or feel the same ways that you do!

brain.jpeg

brainwash.jpg

creator belittles.jpg

It appears you serve your emotions, which is not a great place to be from any perspective.

Yet again, YOU do not speak for me or anyone else and who or what we serve. Hating on atheists will not somehow exalt you to some new heights of wisdom or greatness (other than in your own eyes) but it will show reasonable people how petty and insecure you feel about your own beliefs that you feel the need to trash on people simply because they don't feel or believe the same things that you do. In other words, which one of your emotions caused you to write this post that is so clearly dripping with both open and slightly veiled contempt for atheists?

I rest my case. Good luck to you.

afraid to reason is slave.jpg

So you rest your case by not answering my question and trashing on me for having emotions? Logic and emotion are BOTH important parts of having a good life and figuring out what things are good or bad or somewhere in between. And since when is having emotions a bad thing in and of itself? Are you not allowed to have natural human reactions and feelings as a religious person?

good job...carry on...break a leg

Honesty is the best policy .... If we are follow the path of honesty then we will must be successful in our life.

It's simple, but it's true! :)

How can you follow the path of honesty if you don't have a leader? The One I follow, to my knowledge is the only One who CAN'T lie. Never has and never will. Jesus.

You are right, non-existent people like Jesus can never lie. (or do or say anything else) They also can't help you when you're hungry or when you need a REAL friend or helpful leader in the HERE and NOW. (ya know, reality) Honesty comes from within humanity, just like any and all other virtues or vices.

Asking how someone can follow the path of honesty without a leader is like asking how can a person be honest if they are not being watched all day. Are you only good if you are being watched? Are you really actually honest on your own then?

interesting read

Let's hope Jesus is pro Bitcoin :)

He might be! :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 64503.74
ETH 3188.64
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.56