Inspirational Quotes: Champions are Bred, not Born [Discuss]

in #inspiration-quotes7 years ago (edited)


01-championsV2.jpg

Champions are Bred, not Born?

This is a #discussion post!

A #discussion post is intended to spark an engaging conversation with the community. Everyone is encouraged to participate in the discussion below with thoughtful comments! Remember to upvote the comments that are adding value to the discussion. You can read more about the #discussion tag here: Hey Steemains - Let's start a #discussion!

Sort:  

Most children in Nigeria do not have the opportunity to follow what they want. Mostly parents always wants their children to focus mainly on education only. I remember growing up, i had passion for football and i wanted to become a footballer but anytime i go out to play ball, my parents always beat me

So sorry to hear that. It breaks my heart when parents crush their child's spirit. I've had similar experiences in terms of disinterest in what I wanted to do/ achieve.

Often parents are more concerned about how a child reflects on them in the eyes of others than the overall development and growth of that child. In my view if a child learns the dedication and hard work it takes to succeed in sport, they can can take that work ethic into all aspects of their life.

On the flip side, if a child is mediocre at academia and he/ she learns to accept that being average at what you do day-in-day out, it's easy to see how a child can turn out average as an adult.

If only people could see that it is not just what you do but how well you do it!

wow, this is a profound comment one of which I may have written in reply to this post had you not already put it so well.

This is one of my favorite posts from you yet....Such an important discussion.

After having my baby recently , I plan to raise his right . Encourage him , guide him and always nurture him. No one is born a genius of talented , and we have to teach them and guide them through that is right and wrong . Sports are great , I feel like many kids in this generation now do not enjoy it as much as we used to back in the days, but the cycle should still continue and we just have to try our best

Congratulations on the birth of your child! I'm sure you'll be a wonderful mother.

I think with so much stimulus for kids nowadays (tv, video games, gadgets etc.) they need a little extra encouragement to pursue sports/ physical activity.

I remember when I first took my kids swimming, they hated it for weeks.

However swimming was a core skill that I insisted they learned (I regretted that my parents did not push me to do it). After a while, they loved it. So much so that my middle daughter wants to go swimming for her birthday (lucky me!).

Thank you so much

Swimming is great because not a lot of kids actually learn this skill

Just reminded me to do the same

Hello @journeyoflife

I believe that sports has a lot of lessons to teach children and I encourage you to let your kids participate even if they will not go professional.

Sports taught me a lot of things in life, how to handle losses, the need for dedication and intense preparation for anything I want to do. The spirit of sportsmanship also taught me to respect others even if they are not on my team.

@ogochukwu

I agree , they are able to learn skills at an earlier he rather than later . I also grew up playing many different sports which was a big plus for me and I plan to start my baby young .

I do agree with the statement

Champions are Bred,not Born

If we read all the biggest success stories of all time.
I do realize no one was a born a champion.

The environmnt we live in has a small impact on our life.
I have realized that hat matters most is

Someone's individual urge to succeed!

We are almost born with the same opportunities at hand(though a few have a few privileges they are born into).

The majority of us have to breed ourselves into champions!

No one was born a champion,we have to work our way to championship.

It is why even the great ahtletes we admire train(breed)
everyday to become champions.

If an athlete stops training,s/he will the championship status.

If Messi ,Ronaldo ,Lebro or Stephen Curry stop training ,they will gain massive weight which will not enable them to perform as they used to when they trained.

This is my opinion and open to correction.

I believe that everyone is born to be a champion, but some people do not think this way and consider it their right only.

So, they create a system to stop this from happening to every person. They place stumbling blocks in the way, such as class systems and so on.

So only the strongest with the right resources, may it be money, influence, or strong will, become champions.

Hello @nanzo-scoop

What makes a Champion is the time in the gym or training ground, the nutrition of a champion and a normal person is not the same.

What I have noticed in our culture is that most people build and nourish their bodies but neglect their mind and that is the most important thing that needs nourishment.

Being a champion incorporates a lot of qualities which can be summarized as having the right attitude.

Attitude determines everything, how you handle failures, how you recieve correction, how much work you decide to put into everything that is required of you.

Champions like Leaders are bred not born and they are the people who decided that they will be never outworked.

@ogochukwu

in our culture is that most people build and nourish their bodies but neglect their mind

Where I'm from people, it's the opposite. People spend too much time in their heads and neglect their bodies. Both need nourishing. However I agree, being strong mentally can sent the foundation for everything else.

Yes I believe in Mind Over Matter. People like Stephen Hawking who have disabilities have made huge contributions to the world.

The Mind is powerful

Giving birth to a child. You never will be able to tell the future of the child. I dont think that will ever be possible.

But when the child is growing up it is important to study the child and notice what he or she is having interest in.

In the aspec of sports. If you discover that he likes football. Then you have to suport him and if possible get him a tutor. By that you will bring out the champion in him.

Talent needs training or it will die

Certain people are born with certain talents or gifting. But if they fail to horn it to their advantage, it would be a waste. Most people are just normal, i.e. without much skills and talents, but with hardwork and determination, they can develop the skills they desire. Definitely champions are bred not born!

But if they fail to horn it to their advantage, it would be a waste.

I think often the failing lay with their parents. A parent or guardian can play a major role in nurturing natural talent in a child. I believe most people appear 'normal' because their talent has been overlooked or ignored when they were young.

Often kids are fed into the status quo (academia, corporate jobs) and expected to flourish when not all are naturally predisposed to such environments.

However there does come a point in life, where regardless of your circumstances, you need to 'breed'/ develop yourself into becoming a champion!

Parent or guardian is definitely very crucial. Other areas also includes facilities, programmes and opportunities should be available. There are still many countries and areas that are lacking in these opportunities, hence, they will not have the opportunity to excel.

Hello @praz735u5

I believe what has stifled the talents of many individuals is the popular narrative of going to school and getting a white collar job.

Majority of the people who made impact in the world today are people who ignored the narrative and worked on their talents.

If you tell the average person to list ten celebrities or people of Value they know, the list will be filled with sportsmen, musicians, actors/actresses, and all these things are the innate talent people are born with.

I believe that no one came into this world empty handed, it is left to parents and guardians to help to nuture the talents of every child.

@ogochukwu

This is very true. More and more people are pursuing areas of their talents as compared to previously. In addition to parents and guardians, facilities and opportunities are crucial as well.

Men are the maker of themselves, with our hand we decide our destiny....

Goodwork.... I followed and up voted you... Please do well to follow back and vote my contents. Hoping to see more of you around

Most people are born with talents, at times is the onlooker that will notice such potential but such talents when not developed it will be futile. In most cases champions are trained in the sense that most talented people in a particular field find themselves doing well in another field, there is no limitation to what someone can achieve it depends on passion or it may be triggered by trying to be useful to the society.Such talented person or trained champion should be courageous, tenacious and should be focused to have the proper frame of mind to their desired field. But is it possible for someone born with a talent to stop having such potential?

wow that is great. am glad to be part.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.14
JST 0.029
BTC 66599.39
ETH 3336.69
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.70