MY YEAR SO FAR... HARDEST PILLS TO SWALLOW

in #inspiratin6 years ago (edited)

I can't believe that we are in June. Have you done everything that you had set out to do? For me, I am so far behind on my goals but I am learning to take every day as it comes. I am also learning how to work smarter instead of harder. This has been my year of SACRIFICE and PUTTING IN THE HOURS. Sometimes as human beings, we think we have all the answers but we don't. Here are some bitter pills that I have had to swallow.

1. Patience Pays

I am learning to let myself rest and the biggest lesson for me this year has been patience. We live in an age where we want things to happen FAST and RIGHT NOW. We want to take things fast and get results. Unfortunately, that is not how the world works. I have been put in situations where I have to be patient. For example, I signed up for many things, got rejected and some will just take time. I just got this call for a project that I am ready to take on as soon as possible. However, the people in charge of the project seem to be taking their sweet time and it is making me anxious and impatient.

2. What you consume affects you

As someone who was always on Instagram looking at what the next person is doing, I have learnt that this is doing me more harm than good. It took me too long to realise that I was comparing myself with people who have cars, houses, perfect lives, perfect everything and a lot of money which I don't have (FOR NOW). it made me feel like something was wrong with me. Like, What am I doing wrong? These questions and comparison games started to consume me to the extent that I stopped working on my goals and started breezing through life with no purpose. That stopped when I caught myself and checked myself. I unfollowed and completely stopped consuming things that make me feel inadequate. I now consume educational and insprational material. I am very intentional about social media too.

3. Trust the process

It may gruelling, gruesome and an uphill climb but you are where you are for a reason. Trust that and have faith. Howvere, remember that faith has to have action.

Image

I am not perfect, but I hope that you have learned something. What are some hard truths that you have learned this year?

Sort:  

Relax always when things are not moving alright

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 62102.06
ETH 2415.08
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.49