Seven Steps To A Better You!

in #insperation6 years ago

We are all wanting to grow and better ourselves, but we don’t always know how. Here are seven tips to get us all on the right track!

  1. Stay “Future-Focused”
    I wouldn’t say that I’m someone who thinks a lot about my past, but I know many who do. I actually do fairly well living in the present, but I know I would experience more growth if I spent time dreaming about the person I want to become in the future. Rather than all the “should’ve done” pep talks, ask yourself curious questions about how you can take action NOW to become who you want to be LATER. Don’t dwell on your past. Let your thoughts be consumed with possibilities rather than defeat and limitations. Each new day is a chance to better yourself. Don’t define yourself by who you once were because you have all the potential and power in the world to become the best version of yourself in the future. It starts today!
  1. Feel All Emotions
    As someone who spent most of her life wearing a blindfold and ear plugs to avoid pain at all costs (though some has been unavoidable), I have learned that the most growth happens when I put aside everything I use to distract myself (Netflix, Facebook, busyness, etc.) It’s easy to run away from negative emotions. But allowing yourself to feel and work through difficult times is the only way you will really experience transformational growth. Each time you overcome an obstacle proves to yourself that YOU ARE STRONG and have the abilities needed to overcome. Learn how to find your joy among the sadness and sink into ALL of your emotions as they come.
  1. Set Boundaries
    To learn more about setting boundaries, read this article. Boundaries are put in place to protect yourself, not to control other people. Don’t create unnecessary drama in your life because you aren’t able to effectively set boundaries.
  1. Commit To Healthier Habits
    We all have habits — some are good and some are bad. Work toward replacing the bad habits with ones that honor the person you hope to become — a healthier, better you!

Here are some examples:

-Drink more water.
-Stop eating when you’re full.
-Give your body movement and fresh air each day.
-Practice self-care to avoid burnout.

  1. Practice Gratitude
    I find complaining much more natural. Probably because my kiddos are at the ages where complaining is one of their favorite hobbies. It’s easy to let it rub off on me. But when I’m intentional about practicing gratitude, I experience so much genuine happiness that can’t be found elsewhere. Replace your usual complaints with expressions of gratitude. Among all the things that are wrong, point out the things in your life that are right! You’ll be surprised how many you can find when you look!
  1. Cultivate Generosity
    Selfishness is another thing that comes naturally to all of humanity. But try to step outside of yourself and cultivate a spirit of generosity. Loving others through generous service not only deepens relationships but also makes you an overall happier person!
  1. Give Yourself Grace
    Stop being so hard on yourself. The key to experiencing growth and becoming the best version of yourself is to give grace to who you already are and love yourself along your journey.

seven_steps_image.png

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 54349.85
ETH 2284.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.32