Operation "Night Wasp"

in #insects5 years ago

I woke up at 2:14 AM last night from the noise of some insect. I thought it was a small beetle but the sound it made was quite persistent. Apparently it was a flying insect and the one which flew all over the place.

Having been intregued and a little scared by the sound I turned on the night lamp and saw it was a large wasp. The one which can sting multiple times.

I had two choices (thee actually) - to kill this wasp, to catch and release it through the window or to go back to sleep.

After I saw the wasp land on my pillow going back to sleep wasn't an option anymore.

I didn't want kill the wasp either as it hasn't done any harm to me or @laputis.

Oh yes, @laputis...

She was sleeping peacefully with the earplug in one of her ears so that she wouldn't have to listen to my melodious snoring. Good for her...

I glanced quickly around the room and tried to see a tool with which I could rescue this wasp.

Then I saw plastic container full of jumbo crayons. They strongly smelled of chemicals.

In the meantime the wasp was alternating between crawling inside of the night lamp, climbing the drapers or madly flying left to right looking for a way to escape.

Still watching the wasp I tried to carefully take out those crayons one by one but the process was too slow. When I saw the wasp land on the inner side of the drapers, I saw my opening, threw out all the crayons on the bed and went wasp-hunting.

With the container in one hand and the lid in another I gently put it on the wasp. and slid the lid under it. It was caught inside. Good... The first phase of the operation "Night Wasp" was over.

Then with @laputis still sleeping I went to the window, opened it a little and watched what the wasp was doing. It was crawling on the inner side of the lid.

Not good... I didn't want it to sting me when I opened the lid. So I tried to shake the container a bit. The wasp held its ground clearly without appreciation of my efforts to release it.

Then I shook the container with a much more violent force and it fell down. That's when I removed the lid and put my hand through the window and shook some more.

When I looked at the container the wasp was gone and so was my sleep...

Didn't even say "Good bye"...

Maybe she means to come back?!!!

Posted using Partiko Android

Sort:  

I think she is only glad of the will, if only she would not bring the whole swarm to thank you :)

Wasps haven't come yet where I live. You had a fine battle :)

I could send some to you... Not that you wanted them, haha! They sting multiple times and don't collect honey unlike bees.

Hahahahaha those things happen, I also have respect for animals and insects, (they are God's creation), but I think that in a similar situation I would use my secret weapon.

for caring for the integrity of the family and mine.

Coincidentally, my wife punched a bee last Sunday.

Badminton racket works for well but I've been trying to avoid that for as long as I can...

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63501.83
ETH 2650.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.81