Gaining wings

in #insects7 years ago

These grasshoppers are usually brown in colour and very difficult to photograph because they are extremely active and fly as much as they jump so I was surprised to see this sluggish green form until I realised why: it has just moulted and is recovering from the processgrasshopper adult1.jpg

I found the shed exoskeleton nearby

grasshopper exoskeleton.jpg

Grasshoppers aren't soft-bodied in the larval stages so they undergo incomplete metamorphosis and grow by shedding their exoskeletons. They only acquire their wings at adulthood

Sort:  

The exoskeleton looks cool!

I like it too

I hope I could find one someday so I can collect it to examine

If you have a garden full of grasshoppers, you might. Here's another view
exoskeleton1.jpg

Great photos and you did well to get both photos.
Im sorry about my steem votes, being 0% i have only just worked out that my networking and upvoting has sucked my power. Yes i know i'm a bit slow on the uptake.
I'm learning all the time and will get it wrong again i am sure.

20180303_191141.jpg

No worries, most people take a while to figure it all out. Use this link to monitor your power https://steemblockexplorer.com/@sanddrift
Use your SBD to buy Steem on the Currency Market and power up. Then you can earn more curation rewards on your upvotes

Oh wow how amazing to catch it when it has shed its skin!

It was a lucky find

I see a lot of these in my garden as they love eating lemon leaves.

We have spiny leaf insects that do the same thing and sometimes they will eat the moulted skin which is pretty gross. When you look at the old shell compared to their new size you wonder how they ever fit in it because they are so much bigger.

I think that they only shed it when the internal pressure is sufficient to crack it open. Can't be pleasant to need to burst out of your skin

Shedding of exoskeleton is called moulting or ecdysis.

ecdysis is a new word for me, thanks!

Great macro of the insect and its shell! 😊 I enjoyed this post

Thank you!

Interesting information and the photos are really good.

I think that my editing is improving ;)

Yep. I think this too. Excellent work :)

I'm old and old school, from the days where the image you got was what you got and I'm still learning the ins and out of working digitally. But I know how to use a darkroom, which most younger people have no idea about. Digital is far more fun, though

Yes. I was a child when people used darkroom and then somehow the technologies devellopped with super fast temp. Only for 10 years there was so many and big changes in digital and computer technologies and even they continue to devellop fast now.

Exactly what the previous person wrote. So cool that you found the shedded exoskeleton to show alongside the grasshopper.

Ive shed a few exoskeletons myself

Must have been painful

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 58679.85
ETH 2304.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.45