Caught in the act

in #insects5 years ago

It's been raining on and off today and my tenant had gone out, leaving her washing on the line. It started raining a little so I took off some of the driest items to put inside. Imagine my surprise when I found a stinkbug laying eggs on a t-shirt:

stink bug.jpg

Who knew that they lay green eggs?

stinkbug eggs.jpg

Luckily the egg-glue wasn't dry yet and I got them off the t-shirt by transferring them to a small twig and I'm sure the leftover glue will come out in the wash. It's unusual for a stinkbug to mistake the washing for a suitable egg-laying place but they are minor irritation compared to a fly found a few hundred kilometers to the North. Called the Putzi fly, these charmers are similar to bot flies or warbles and they lay their eggs on damp washing. If you don't iron all your clothes before wearing, the eggs hatch and the larvae burrow into the skin and grow there, causing a large boil-like sore to form which has a maggot inside. Getting the maggot out involves covering the sore with a thick layer of Vaseline so that the maggot is unable to breathe. It will then stick its head out in search of air and can be grabbed with tweezers. Utterly gross!

I'm extremely grateful that the area I live in doesn't have high-enough rainfall to support these revolting creatures as ironing is not high on my list of priorities in life.

Sort:  

Eeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeeek!!
This takes me back to the @supersoju days, but honestly, it’s kinda worse on the creepy crawly yuk factor. You don’t even have a microscope and there is just too much details!
shuddering on the laying of eggs

Stink bugs are large, no microscope needed

The eggs, nik, the eggs... yuk, yuk, yuk!

Green eggs are funky!

I am grossed out and intrigued at the same time.
The information about the Putzi fly is very creepy; if that was a possibility here; I would throw all my clothes into the dryer after drying to make sure they are dead.

Ahahaha!

Awful. Such a small fly can cause such a large disease. Just a real wild beast.

Living in warmer climates brings strange insect pests

This sounds very alarming to me! I should iron my clothes more often!!

Posted using Partiko iOS

Yuck! The first time I heard of botflies was in an article, "Parasitism on My Mind," where some poor student discovered that it wasn't a mosquito bite on his head! The local botfly cure was to strap a piece of meat there and let the maggot burrow up into it. Instead, he waited until he got home, where instead of removing it, the puzzled doctors treated it as a curiosity! He eventually hatched a botfly. Again, yuck.

They are disgusting although I have seen pictures of large infestations on feral cats and I'm sure those must be agonising

Yes, I would invest in a dryer for sure!

Apparently the eggs have a lifespan of 48 hours and you can safely wear any clothes thereafter even if not ironed, I'm not sure you'd ever feel good about it

No, it still gives me the creeps just thinking about it😰

Horrible!!!
Are there enough eggs for an omelet? ahahaha

Maybe for the ants :)

I get gray ones in my house all the time. A nuisance...

The smell they make is beyond gross

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64534.17
ETH 3150.15
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.01