The guardian at the security gate

in #insects8 years ago

Guess who was sitting on my security gate as I got up to go to work today...

None other than a stick insect praying mantis.

It was such a fine specimen I just had to get some close ups of it.

I wonder what it is praying for, rain perhaps?

The eyes are just freaky!!!

After all the posing a last couple of shots in the vegetation where I left it to continue looking like a stick.

Sort:  

It seems we need not to seek further for aliens - they are already among us. ;-)

Haha ! Im the security guard around here ! Lol ! Great shots thanks for shareing ! 😂👍

I suppose it's Mother thinks it is Pretty?. Have also come across a few of them , they really blend into their surroundings!

possibly... although they may try to eat each other

Great camouflage! If I saw one, I would definitely think it was a stick.

Steem on,
Mike

The perfect camouflage :)

Excellent photographs congratulations on the find @gavvet, beautiful insect, has a good camouflage

It complitely looks freaky :)

Never seen one of these before. Pretty strange looking little creature.

that's very sexy lady, can you get me her phone number?

Well, now I just don't know anymore. Do sticks look like this insect or does this insect look like sticks?

now, that is the question...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.16
JST 0.032
BTC 64103.87
ETH 2762.96
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65