Offspring

in #insectpub5 years ago

lobosceliana.jpg

Last year, I had a large adult female Stone Grasshopper (Genus: Lobosceliana) pottering around under the tree in my backyard for a few months and I see she left me a present. Large as he is, this is still a nymph

lobosceliana3.jpg

I say he because the females are wingless and this nymph's wings are still developing, he may be on his final instar stage. Grasshoppers undergo incomplete metamorphosis because they do not pupate, only shed their skins a few times until they reach adulthood and each size phase is called an instar.

lobosceliana2.jpg
Crouching down because the camera makes him nervous. The large shield-shaped thorax is called a pronotum

Here's a picture I took of the adult female last year, showing off the adult colouration and excellent camouflage

lobosceliana4.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations @nikv! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 16000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 17000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Thanks for sharing your experience with us!
TIBLogo

You have been curated by @hafizullah on behalf of Inner Blocks: a community encouraging first hand content, with each individual living their best life, and being responsible for their own well being. #innerblocks Check it out at @innerblocks for the latest information and community updates, or to show your support via delegation.

Thank you

He is nice. His body looks like a war suit.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, and he needs it. Good to see you around, how are you?

I'm good, what about you? I often come here, just not posting anything.

Posted using Partiko Android

Good enough, just very busy with all kinds of projects and broke as hell

Okay, Projects on steem? I'm broke too these days :D And, I once tried to find you on Discord, but was not able to message you. Have you deleted your discord account? It wasn't working.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, one of these is a steem project, I am working as a curator. I am still on discord, adjusted my discord settings to avoid getting all kinds of messages so you won't find me unless we share a server and I left the worldwildflowers because it was dead. Join the curangel server and you'll find me there https://discord.gg/WZgPKNY

Beautifully design and tailored suit!
Must be very expensive! The Tank grasshopper!

She looks so pretty

That's impressive. How big do they get?

About 5 - 7cm long

Wow it looks very armored. Ready for battle.

Posted using Partiko Android

That's the only defense against predators

Super!
Among the fallen leaves in autumn, it will be difficult to notice :-))
Is it harmful to plants?

Of course they eat the plants

Great photos of this grasshopper with horns on its head.

Thank you

Looks prehistoric...

Like everything else here. Are you feeling better now?

Yes, I'm better, Thank you... Must have been a virus that had to run its course... My energy level is just downnow ....

Hopefully it comes back soon

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 58010.39
ETH 2457.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.34