Guardian Of The Green Peppers

2710a8cd-b4dd-492d-800e-5483830c2b10.jpeg

ccd03424-40cd-445c-8426-77b43bff33df.jpeg


Countless praying mantis have made their home on this property, and it is a welcomed sight. They are constantly hard at work clearing my crops of pesky insects that would otherwise require sprays to rid.

There must be thousands of these mantis around on just this piece of land.

Everyday I see one or two about my daily work. This one I happened to spot while I was inspecting my containers.. so I figured to snap a candid shot of him.

I must have frightened the bugger, as I got close to him, for he stopped moving entirely and simply appeared to inspect my phone right back. Great smile buddy. Keep eating those lantern flies, too.


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

What a beauty! I am finding lots of them around the garden too - the best visitors we could hope to have! :)

So many of these green goblins!

We bought a couple egg sacs for preying mantis and our aphid problem dwindled. It helps that my mom has a plant nursery next door so even the mantis get an extended season with lots of flowers!

they must follow the food..

Hi @biffybirdcam!

Your post was upvoted by @steem-ua, new Steem dApp, using UserAuthority for algorithmic post curation!
Your UA account score is currently 2.744 which ranks you at #12803 across all Steem accounts.
Your rank has improved 165 places in the last three days (old rank 12968).

In our last Algorithmic Curation Round, consisting of 376 contributions, your post is ranked at #309.

Evaluation of your UA score:
  • Only a few people are following you, try to convince more people with good work.
  • Your contribution has not gone unnoticed, keep up the good work!
  • Try to improve on your user engagement! The more interesting interaction in the comments of your post, the better!

Feel free to join our @steem-ua Discord server

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63135.01
ETH 2546.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.64