Breaking news: Mekkanix has arrived.

in #innovation6 years ago (edited)

mekkanix logo.png

Greatness.
All of us have different abilities. Many of us are unable to achieve significant advances in the field of our own interests but our interest is a sign that we have something to contribute where someone else with the same interest is lacking. A bottom up business model, rather than top-down. Those who propose interesting goals, if given exposure in the right venues, can attract a large pool of individuals willing to contribute to bringing those goals to fruition. Where the motive for participation is a passion for progress towards those goals, financial reward is only a possible side benefit, not a primary focus. So here is my proposal for today, and I hope it gains exposure here: I want to make vaporwave/synthwave videos the next big thing. There is not much out there at the moment, because it is very difficult to make these videos without expensive software, and sampling commercial works, violating copyrights. Much of the vaporwave music is made by slowing down 80's or 90's funky pop or smooth jazz and often adding phasing or reverb effects. In the interest of not infringing on copyrights, I suggest a movement to make original music and video that is similar to this or better. I am already working on developing this. The vaporwave phenomenon I am aspiring to would not be complete without the beautiful aesthetic, psychedelic video and tropical/vintage lo-fi computer pictures to go along with it. Many artists are using old 80's computer animations, old clips of the simpsons (simpsonwave), or short looping custom animations with the music, often with vhs style lo-fi fx often made with adobe aftereffects. The most amazing videos I've seen incorporate emotional video content with the music. That's why I was so taken by the simpsonwave videos (example below) I am learning to use 2 free pieces of software to make my own vaporwave animations: blender, available at blender.org, and opentoonz, available at https://opentoonz.github.io/e/ I have posted examples of my work so far towards this goal on my facebook page: https://www.facebook.com/loco.viajero I also have most of my music posted at http://www.soundcloud.com/mekkanix. I invite a community of people who would like to help make this dream a reality to come together and help each other bring hungry neo-nostalgic chillout enthusiasts a world of mind candy for the 2020's. I think the spirit of entrepreneurship that has been inspired by the crypto-revolution is a great match for the spirit of vaporwave, a chance to be one of the nouveau riche while still tongue-in-cheek poking fun at the lifestyle of excess, luxury, consumption, and commercialization. May we all lean back and enjoy the ride in our self-driving lambos to the neon purple moon this year.

Mekkanix.

             v         Simpsonwave "Sunday School," by Lucien Hughes:

           v         Still render of a scene I made in blender:

musicstage.png

Sort:  

Congratulations @mekkanix! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published your First Post

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.030
BTC 63788.71
ETH 3393.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.62