You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Faster horses

in #innovation7 years ago (edited)

Nice article!

It's nice to know that the ubiquitous safety pin has so many historical facts attached to it.

On a lighter note I am reminded of a line from Dorothy Sayers' book in which a liar is described with a reference to the safety pin, "He was so crooked, you could have used his spine for a safety-pin."

I found it very informative. Thanks!

Sort:  

Great quote, great insult. This reminds me of the famous insult made to Earl Mountbatten, the last Viceroy of India, by Field Marshall General Templer: "Dickie, you're so crooked that if you swallowed a nail you'd shit a corkscrew".

Wow, that's a great quote. She had a sharp pen, that's for sure. Thanks for sharing it!

And I have to thank that baby pin for getting me to question the safety pin - without that I would probably have drifted through life not knowing anything more than how much blood a safety pin can usually get out of the softest part of my fingertip.

I like poems and happened to read one which had a line with safety pin in it. This excerpt is taken from allpoetry.com(source):

With God, i dont need a safety pin
for Jesus is my glue
to bind together my faults
so his work, i can do".

Good to come back and see genuinely good content being upvoted and appreciated - for a change. Following for more!

Lovely poem, @ maxabit. Thank you for sharing 😘

And thank you for the kind words about my content. I really appreciate it. I'm here for the long haul so I like to put effort into what I write, and it makes such a difference to get real comments back instead of copy paste "nice work please follow me" type replies.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59274.49
ETH 2983.07
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.75