Sadness

in #innocence3 years ago

For long had I known this girl.
Of glorious eyes and lustrous hair was she.
But there was in those a deepness of loss,
And one fine day in her youth, said she:
"Do you know what sadness is?"

It was as odd a question as any
That has fallen upon these deaf ears mine.
"What???" asked I of the baited breath
And with curious lament said she:
"It is a thing that neither you nor I ever miss"

Never had I considered such profundity!
"Pray proceed" said I.
"It flickers on and off like light," said she.
Curiouser and curiouser!!!
"Or like the change from day to night"continued she.
But there she ended and would say no more.

In this cryptic verbiage was hid a mystery,
That lurked in the infinite depths of those soulful orbs.
But stumped was I for a lack of history,
And in vain was my persistence,
in deciphering this ordeal of innocence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 60429.37
ETH 2327.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.52