Show Me Your Faith

in #innerblocks4 years ago (edited)

work.jpeg
James 2:18 (KJV)
Yea, a man may say, Thou hast faith, and I have works: shew me thy faith without thy works, and I will shew thee my faith by my works.

I knew a lady once, she’s passed away now, who refused to get baptized because she said she wanted to prove a Christian can go to heaven without being baptized. She had a friend who professed to be a Christian but refused to attend church because she wanted to prove she could go to heaven without being a member of or attending church. They were demonstrating their faith, they believed, by their works, or lack of it.

I suppose every sort of faith has some sort of work associated with it, even if the work is not to work. I wish to point out that our actions tell a great deal about our faith – what we believe. I would go so far as to say our work shows our true faith much more than our words do.
One person’s faith compels him to be very religious. He does what he does because he believes these things earn him a spot in heaven.
Another person’s faith sets them to work building up churches. His faith leads him to believe that if he won’t do it neither will God.

I want my faith to show that I believe in a living and present God, with whom I have a true and personal relationship.

And I would like to lead others to know Him in the same way.

To my readers:
First of all, thank you! It is a great joy to me to know you read the thoughts and lessons God has given me in His word.
Secondly, I would love to hear from you. Please feel free to leave comments.

For this and more than 4900 earlier Daily Visits with God visit https://mckenzie-visit-with-god.blogspot.com. There you will find daily visits going back to 2006.

If this blog has blessed you, please subscribe to my feed and share it with others.

Donate to Bible Baptist Church every time you make an Amazon purchase through this link, https://smile.amazon.com/ch/91-1265824

For more resources from Pastor Marvin McKenzie visit http://puyallupbaptistchurch.com.
My books are available at:
My author spotlight at Lulu.com:
http://www.lulu.com/spotlight/marvinmckenzie
My author Page for Kindle/Amazon
http://www.amazon.com/author/marvinmckenzie

James 2:18 (KJV) Show Me Your Faith

Photos from pexels.com
Marvin Feb 5 2019 HBBC cropped.jpg

Sort:  

My dad used to quote that verse. He did a few good deeds and was convinced that it guaranteed his salvation. Despite the fact that there was nothing godly about him. I don't know anybody who knew the Bible better and did less with it than him.

So we need to examine ourselves and make sure we're in the faith before we think that verse can apply to us.

I understand

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 57932.25
ETH 2469.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.37