You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homeschool ~ Personal Finance 101

Thanks! Yeah, I understand letting them take on more tasks. We have definitely started that. But it's weird. Coming from a time when parents give their kids so much, I have this guilt about making them buy things, it's terrible! I have to remind myself that when my parents were kids it was normal for kids to have to purchase things. If they wanted a cool Halloween custome that wasn't homemade, they had to figure that out. Plus it's really good for them.

Sort:  

I have those guilt moments too! I try to remind myself how different it was even when I was growing up. Over the years I've often thought that bailing them out and getting them whatever they wanted wasn't going to set them up very well for adulthood. Sometimes they've got to learn to compromise, go without and prioritise. It's still not eay to say no, though.

Ahhh you nailed it right on the head. Compromise, go without and prioritise. Ultimately, if they aren't taught that now, it's a real disservice when they're grown. It should be on the top of the list.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.15
JST 0.028
BTC 59789.86
ETH 2418.86
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.43