Homeschooling With Teenagers

in #innerblocks5 years ago (edited)

Homeschooling wins!.png


Before we launch deeply into what it means to change with the tides of our children, let's take a brief moment of silence for the days of finger paints, never having enough Elmer's glue, singing the ABC's and praying that your kids will be able to read well enough to pass a driver's ed test one day. Then take a deep breath of appreciation.

Despite my fears, they all grew a huge passion for reading (thank you amazing junior fiction authors!) and those nightmares of me sitting next to them at the DMV sounding out words were long gone. We still need a lot of Elmer's glue as they rediscovered, yesterday, the joy of letting it dry all over your skin and peeling it off. And I bet if I started singing they would join with me out of nostalgia.

But something that has definitely changed is that we have landed solidly into a higher level of learning, where the assignments take more thought, effort and time. And if we were to be real..I would say it can be real boring...for all of us. Sure, I get to leave the table for a second while they write that paragraph on what they just learned in History. And yes, this is really good for it sinking in and is really practical. But sometimes...sometimes teenagers needs to get up and play.

Now, believe you me...we are have a large tendency to fly by the seat of our pants. If their dad needs help and they get to learn a new skill or perfect an old one, off they go. If they have a hankering for cinnamon bread, well home-ec is taking care of itself. But...and there is a large but...some things take book work...hours of book work.

So today rolled in and our school day started out normal. We all sat down to our group History lesson when a precious little gift was given. The site we use, Easy Peasy Homeschool, planned a play today! I saw it...and laughed inside. I knew the rest of the day was shot. My kids love plays.

Sure enough, once I told them, they were really pumped. They spent the next hour gathering props and making costumes. I printed out copies of the script and hung out for a rehearsal or two, then they sent me away so they could work out the details and the parts they wanted to adlib.

The hubs and I went on a walk around the farm and came back an hour, and they were all ready!

Apart from a few giggles, they did a great job and had even memorized their lines! Of course one of the historical figures ended up having an unscripted tragic death scene that may or may not be accurate, but if I were grading it, they would still have gotten an A plus!

So really, the days of preschool anarchy might be in the past, but the fun we can have now is limitless. Plus they're old enough to get all my jokes and watch PG-13 movies.

Thanks for hanging out and letting me share a bit of my Inner Blocks!

Much love,
Stacie D

real footer.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, your post was discovered and featured by @OCD in its daily compilation #439!

We would really like you to join our discord community where you'll find other great authors like you. If you want to support us, the best way is to vote for our witness here

amazing :)
im not even sure that's allowed overhere ... you might turn out not-a-cog-in-the-machine , the hardest part must be to stay objective, right ? to not fall for the same pitfall the state-schools have : the fact that it's written with the goal to learn to fall in line and learn to learn and not to learn to think ... hard
can't be all fun and games ....

haha that is the biggest pitfall! I don't want to crush them with learning, I want them to want to learn. What part of the world are you from? I know homeschooling is illegal in a lot of other countries.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @priyanarc.


@helpie is a Community Witness.

So you teach teenagers at home? Sounds very interesting and fun which is a very relaxing environment. Would have loved to see that play as I had my share of teaching and working with kids. Years ago we did a couple of stage plays about Martys of the Catacombs and the life of Christ.

How cool! Yeah, I really like being able to school them at home. We also do it in the afternoon because, unlike when they were little, their brains aren't fully awake until noon. When we switched their grades shot up!

the family that learns together stays together eh?

This post was curated by @theluvbug
and has received an upvote and a resteem to hopefully generate some ❤ extra love ❤ for your post!
JOIN ME ON TWITTER

myluvbug.gif

In Proud Collaboration with The Power House Creatives
and their founder @jaynie

JOIN US HERE

A wonderful day in the life post!

It took me back to my homeschooling (or more accurately unschooling) with my daughter until she went back for the social aspect of high school. Following you with interest!

P.S. Silly me, following already.

Haha, this made me smile! I'm so glad you are already following me, thank you! And now I'm following you!

Sounds like a good day 😊

Thank you! It was a great day!

You have been visited by @minismallholding one behalf of @HomeEdders.


Sounds like the play was fun for all! It's interesting the evolution of homeschooling as they mature, but somehow it all falls into place.


Please feel free to join in and meet other home educators on discord

Ya know, it really does just fall all into place. Probably because we know them so well, and we change with them 😀

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.16
TRX 0.16
JST 0.030
BTC 58551.10
ETH 2514.90
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.35