Into The Social Multi-Verse

in #innerblocks5 years ago

sun.png

As I stand in the field, or as I sit on the couch, or climb up on top of a building...I wonder to myself.... "which version of this experience is going to end up on social media".

We are late in the fourth quarter of 2019 and social medias are still buzzing. As a matter of fact, there are more social medias today that ever. This is a trend that I see continuing for a long time in one form or another. We, Stacie D (@freedomtowrite) and I , are even developing our own frontend for hosting content here on the Steem Blockchain. It is InnerBlocks @innerblocks.

Untitled design (1) (1).png

When I think about my day, I can't help buy think about how social media will factor into it. How much time will I be working digitally today? Which pictures will I be posting? What will the topic of my vlog be? Then after I answer all of these questions I start to think about the how of everything. How will I get this image and edit it. How or where will I film my vlog and with what equipment. How and what kind of thumbnail will I create. Shoot, I even spent a fair amount of time using a new program to create the thumbnail for this post!

It struck my as funny that with the community that we are founding, we are focusing on the many different parts of our personality. We want to encourage everyone to build themselves one block at a time. If you were to look at Inner Blocks as a diagram, or even an exploded schematic....it almost looks like all of the different socials.

This about it. What part of yourself or your process are you sharing in different places? Are you sharing more personality in one place, while being more professional in another? Are you sharing your creation for the first time, or are you cross posting and linking back to your creation? Are you sharing a video that is short and raw, or long and edited? All of this applies.

This is what I think. This is only an example of some of the socials I am talking about today...

Instagram: This is where I share images both edited and raw. This is where I will post a short video of my self or what I
am doing. Maybe I am working up on a greenhouse and a catch a 10 second video to share. Raw and "real life".

Steemit: This is where I put most of my time effort and energy. This is where I make all of my posts for @freedompoint,
and I am building a community/front end on the Steem Blockchain. I will share my post (like I am writing right now)
and I will also use Steemit.com as a place to cross post to from other Blockchain frontends.

D.tube: This is where I upload my videos. Maybe I use youtube first, or maybe I upload directly to D.tube either way this
is the staple of my creations. I mostly create videos and vlogs. I figure I can get way more words into a video than I can
into written words.

Twitter: Then there is twitter. It is a place where you want to share your real life, but not really. So here is where I will
leave links to the content that I have already created, or share images that have been edited. I will also do small
videos, but as a way to promote the content and draw attention.

Untitled design (1) (1).png

This is just a very small list of all of the social medias that are available. It can go on all day. There can be alot of copying and pasting. We can upload the same video to countless websites. We can share photos until we are bored. We can interact with people both personally and professionally until we can't stand it.

When it comes to the new age of social media, how do we navigate? It is a literal multi verse. Much like a comic book that has the same character but in many different story lines. Since we all sit behind a keyboard, people only know things about us that we want them to know. It is not until you meed someone face to face that they get an idea of who you really are, or what you are really about.

So we can build a persona. We can build a mask and a theme, and then play this character everyday. Much like in our real lives when we answer to the name our parents gave us, and live out our experience as "who we are". Over time we continue to refine the character that we play in the physical world, this is just like what happens in the digital world.

At any point we can get sucked into a new social media, but maybe we didn't like how things were going with the previous one, so we change. We change the content. We change the presentation. We build up the new image that we want everyone to see.

In this fast paced world we are very much attracted to the idea of "what can we gain". So this will often make us put ourselves on hold to advance the narrative. To present ourselves or our ideas as more attractive to others. This will draw more eyes to our content, followed by more likes and more shares. In some cases this will also lead to more upvotes, which could benefit you financially.

When you are jumping into your different social medias today...who are you?

We life a life long journey of trying to figure out who we are, and then we add social media to the mix. So not only are we trying to figure out who we are when we think about ourselves, but we also factor in who we are to others.

I hope you all are enjoying your journey and your adventure. I hope as you wade through the deep uncharted waters of social media that you remember, at least a little bit, who you actually are.

Be well
~The Yeti


Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.19
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63592.23
ETH 2551.58
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.75