Inktober Day 12: Whale

in #inktober6 years ago


Whale shark


If I could see any animal up close then it would be a whale shark. They look so beautiful. Not sure if I’ll ever muster the courage to see one since I’m terrified of the ocean. The shore isn’t too bad but I doubt you’ll ever find me in the middle of it.


The progress...

All my drawings are done digitally on the Procreate App using the iPad Pro with Apple Pencil.


The outline sketch of the whale shark took me longer than I thought it would. Simple shapes can be intimidating when you’re trying to ensure that your drawing mimics the real thing.

I began inking once I was satisfied with the shapes.

Blacked out the body and thin subtle highlights.

Then I drew a grid that curved to the animals shape. Patterns are quite difficult for me.

Thankfully, I finished the pattern because they were tiring me out. They take forever!

Slight highlights to the curve of the head and fins.

And a background that simulates light shining from deep within the sea. :)


Thanks for stopping by to view my art! 🦊

Sort:  



This post has been rated by the user-run curation platform CI! In this platform users are able to manually curate content. This is done regardless of Steem Power, for both rewards and vote size calculation.

Join in at our site here!
https://collectiveintelligence.red/

Or join us on discord to interact with the community!
https://discord.gg/sx6dYxt



This post was submitted for curation by: @theironfelix
This post was given a rating of: 0.7852180215740404
This post was voted: 87.66%

The speed lines make it look like this whale is speeding through very fast. And I also like the black dots of its skin... what a stylish animal XD.

The dots were so hard!!

It cameth from the void, and shall terrorize us all whence it be done with its inky terror! Upvot'd and resteem'd.

Co-in voted as "good post" ..how couldn't I?

To use a grid for the dots on the whale skin was an great idea...this makes the illustration very plastic and real looking 👍🏼

I’m glad you think so! I bet I could’ve done better with the pattern if I had given myself more time.

Gosh I love the movement and perspective you've used here, foxi ! It creates such a dynamic and lively picture ! Great inking and love the pointillism use, as well <3

Inking is really hard so it’s nice to hear that you liked it Spidey! I’m still not 100% satisfied with this drawing since I need to continue experimenting with negative space. Either way I’m still glad that I was able to complete it! :D


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94