Leader of the flock -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

chickenTH.jpg

My 5th drawing for Inktober

This is my 5th drawing for the Inktober challenge, I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Chicken. I created this piece using my dip pen, drawing inks, and a feather.

I used some of my photographs as inspiration for this piece. Last summer we were having a picnic when we were invaded by a flock of chickens looking to share our sandwiches

chickens.jpg

I think this one was the leader of the gang!

chickenport.jpg

This month I'm joining in with the drawing fun that is the Inktober challenge. The drawing challenge is to create one ink drawing a day for the entire month of October. You can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.

inksplat.png

2018promptlistSML.jpg

Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

I drew the image of the chicken lightly on the paper in pencil.

chickenpencil.jpg

The next stage was to use a dip pen and black drawing ink to go over the lines

chickeninkpen.jpg

I then used a brush to add tones with water and ink. After I used a feather to create a series of marks across the feathered area of the chicken.

chickenfeather.gif

chickeninkfeather.jpg


inksplat.png

Cluck, cluck, cluck!

chickenboard.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Leader of the Flock'

chickenM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

That’s one angry looking chicken! Did that look beget a sandwich?

No! I refused to feed them -there were signs saying 'don't feed the chickens they peck!'
On denial of sandwiches this chicken jumped upon the picnic table though and tried to get in the cool bag. Cheeky chicken.

I love the idea of using the feather as a brush in your drawing ;-)

Thank you - I keep a little selection of feathers to paint/draw with as they produce nice marks.

Cool, I should experiment more often with things like that. Thanks again for the inspiration.

My pleasure :D

Last summer we were having a picnic when we were invaded by a flock of chickens looking to share our sandwiches

Chicken have to eat too! LOL. I appreciate how you explain the process of your artistry. Nicely done. Blessings. Cluck Cluck.

I think it was a regular hustle these chickens had going.

I love a good chicken drawing ! Egg-cellent. I have to admit I used that same pun for the 'text' of my drawing today too, I HAD to use today's prompt as I LOVE chickens, some of my best friends have been chickens. :)

I don't think it is possible to overuse a good pun!

I mean I'd be 'chicken' if I didn't continue ;) (not sure that's a pun or just using the word, but there you go I don't want to hen peck you with puns)

really loves the eye expression of the chicken. You really are one of the masters of ink drawings @opheliafu

I think that chicken was giving me the evil eye!

very nice drawing , so the day 5 is chicken day , interesting , maybe i come into this challenge also :)

What fun chickens, in my town there are usually many and I have even seen their eggs hatch :3
I love the brushstrokes you've done, that watery effect is always incredible <3

Those eyes look pierce! Another awesome artwork :)

You are so good at this! Mmmm im also joining the inktober challenge. But im still at Day 1. I am using the same prompt! Lovely work from you again 😍😍😍

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.17
TRX 0.13
JST 0.027
BTC 60482.94
ETH 2613.04
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.63