Flowing Thoughts -Inktober

in #inktober6 years ago

tenheadTH.jpg

My 10th drawing for Inktober

I have decided to get out my ink pens and join in with Inktober, you can find more details about Inktober on the website: https://inktober.com/.
For my tenth drawing I went with the Inktober prompt suggestion of Flowing. I started by playing with the inks, letting the ink flow along droplets of water. The next stage was building a drawing around these flows of inks.

inksplat.png

2018promptlistSML.jpg
Source: https://inktober.com/rules/

3inkmarks.png

Creating my drawing

October11.jpg

Letting my ideas flow!

I started by masking of a section of the paper that would become the shape of the head. I then placed the drawing board and paper vertically against a wall, and placed a tub underneath to catch any droplets of ink. Using a brush I applied water to the paper and then on top of the water placed droplets of ink. The droplets flowed across the water and down the paper to create a series of lines.

teninkSM.gif

The next stage was using a dip pen and drawing ink to add the facial shape and details on the eyes and eyebrows.

tenheadBRD.jpg

3inkmarks.png

'Flowing thoughts'

tenheadM.jpg

Ink on paper

6inkmarks.png

pagefooterL.png

If you want to see some of my previous ink illustrations check out DWELLING, an illustrated crime novel collaboration between myself and fellow Steemian @dougkarr, set in New York’s Lower East Side. Dwelling is now available in print and ePub.
Image uploaded from iOS.jpg
Dwelling available on Amazon

Redbubble shop

Sort:  

Simple yet powerful finishing!
赞!

Thank you, this was a very playful piece from me today - I had fun playing with the inks.

Art should be fun!!

I didn't know that it actually exists an official INKTOBER prompt list :D :D oh why I didn't see it before :( maybe I will do the same, but in November because November is my birth-month :D :D and nice drawing

There are a few other lists floating around too, I've seen some great ones. Though you don't have to follow the list - it just helps with ideas.

That is the first one that I saw. Well, I wanted to be a part of Inktober already in the previous year but I forgot and I forgot also this year. Since October isn't over yet, maybe I can still do it this year, I really wanted that. :D

I haven't done it previous years - a fellow Steemit artist told me about it this year the day before it started, so i joined in.

One of the features that catch me from your drawings is that they are simple, simple, but they are loaded with a lot of feeling and symbology! That skill is hard to come by. I congratulate you for achieving it.

Thank you @nancybriti. I like to cut out the unnecessary and focus on the feeling of the piece - glad you enjoy it :D

Wow! you really got skills man!

Thank you very much

You're welcome! :)

I was sad to miss yesterday for inking, but it was just impossible. At least I thought about today's word whilst sitting in the detist chair AGAIN yesterday (the last time for awhile at least).

Your inks are so dreamy and thoughtful and this one too. A great interpretation of the prompt.

Feeling your pain there!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.25
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62432.37
ETH 3003.22
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78