The scorched earth policy

in #inktober6 years ago

So the inktober word of today is: Scorched. I am old enough to have known people who lived through WWII and the war was still a somber shadows resting over our world views when I was a child. The Russians who suffered terribly under the long retreat from the German army, burned everything that could be of use to the enemy.

This little cart and the deserted landscape is the first image that I saw when thinking about the word.


The scorched earth policy

Sort:  

We American's haven't a clue how wretched these world wars were for our European bretheren. Cities burned and homes desolated, I can't imagine. I hope we shan't ever face such a thing again. Let's hope today's politics of world countries separating is just political theatre and not a repeat of the turning of the last century.

Amazing how much you evoke with these lines.

You are lucky that you never had any wars on your territory (except the terrible civil war). I have known people who suffered some of the worst things in wwii. But the knowledge does disappear a little for every generation. My girls can feel the echo in me as I could feel the echo in my parents when these things were talked about. But I think we forget and eventually we are where we are now. Aggression is rising in people who never knew the horror we can unload upon us self.

That's impressive how you evoke an image with minimalism -- causing our minds to fill in the blanks.

Thanks, mate!

Great idea for today's word.

It seems we share an association with the word.

I'm not surprised.

My grandfather saw some of it after he had been liberated from a camp by the Russians.

As I wrote to @donnadavisart - the memories slowly fade through the generations. When you have experienced people who carry such things within them, you are affected in another way than younger people who haven't.

hi @katharsisdrill, always nice to see new things from you, i stop to meet you here after a while

I don't know... your either born with it or your not.., I couldn't have thought of that in 1000 years.

Scorched earth is a very callous policy indeed, and I love how you captured it with your style. The desolation and burnt soil is really nicely depicted here <3 Wonderful picture, as always... <3

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95