Sort:  

I LOVE this one as I am a sucker for a creepy doll. I have always been enamoured of the human form so the 'dummy' of old and the creepy antique dolls have been my love since I could articulate my wants.

This drawing has a lot of Story as well and I'm loving them all.

I thought you would :) I think the reason the old Hebrews disliked images were the redneck sheep herder's angst of the living still dead golden statues that the more advanced people had. They already felt the creepiness and was not good at handling it.

There is a lot of story buried in the drawing... maybe it could be used for a relay race story? (not sure what the word would be - in Denmark we say stafet - the thing where one person writes and then the next person takes over.)

It's better that the girl can't get this, because this is exactly how I picture a cursed, haunted doll infused with the soul of satan and made of human skin. The perfect XMAS gift!

It would be better... but there is a story there, where the perverse, fat shopkeeper lady gives it to her... for freeeeeeeeee.

Precious.

You know the song that's playin' in her mind.

She has a swinging mind. Great version btw.

Fit for a great drawing :-)

The day I make a drawing that can match those two I will have transcended to the master plane.

I'm looking forward to that day! So far, here's the only blues cartoon I can think of

Robert Crumb made some comics about the old blues musicians. He loves the old music and collects laquer records.

That is awesome!!!! Thanks for letting me know about this, absolutely love it. Many of those blues men and women have faces made for art, like Son House :-)

He is not putting any sugar on top, but he loves the music and the people who made it. I seldom read about artists, but this Charley Patton comic-biography really gave some extra dimensions to my understanding of the early blues.

Here's a full version

And yes, Son House!

Both sad and unsettling at the same time... Well done!

This reminds me of that scene from Interview the Vampire, where the young vampire girl wanted her own porcelain doll and at that time, they were not meant for young girls, but for women, cuz only women could afford them, and so the vampire girl killed the doll maker so she didn't have to pay for the doll...

Anyway, your drawing is very nice! I love the composition, and how the framing deliver the doll front and center, but yet we are also arrested with the expression of the girl at the window :)

Wonderful piece~


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.18
TRX 0.15
JST 0.029
BTC 63191.06
ETH 2551.41
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.65