Cosmo Pup, Inktober Children's books style Drawing

in #inktober6 years ago

First Dog

Final Dog.jpg

So I've decided that children's books might be a good niche to get into. I've never worked in that industry and I actually find doing cute kids stuff a bit challenging. I have to stop myself from over detailing and make sure there are no scary aliens or robots lurking ;) But I'm starting to like this poochmonaut and might do some digital work based on him.

If I start doing kid's books I'll most likely be doing Vector illustration. I'd like to develop my style a bit before I start doing digital work. I love the idea of creating bright and imaginative art for children. I think it would be a great thing to help spark their imaginations. let's see what I can come up with in the coming weeks :)

Here is the whole drawing process for Cosmo Pup starting with the pencil sketch.

Pencil Dog.jpg

After the penciliing, I did some thin line with the good old Steadtler drawing pen.

Dog pen.jpg

Next, I just erased the pencil creating a huge mess.

Rubber dog.jpg

Wow, looks like he's in a orbital debris field!

Dog thick line.jpg

Now it's looking much better. time for the final details like shading and inking the eyes.

Final Dog.jpg

And finally, a clean up on Photoshop as well as turning Brightness and contrast up.

And there we have it! Nice and simple but definitely got the cuteness factor.

Insistently, I found one image on google that made me do a double take. This is an example of how NOT to do children's book illustration -

dick dick.jpg

Woooot???

Thanks for coming to take a look at my Inktober art. I'll have something else for you soon! Take care :)

my logo3.jpg

Sort:  

Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @artzone. Follow @artzone and get added to our voting list for valuable up-votes!

Yeah just did a few minutes ago :)

Gonna be amazing when those valuable upvotes come in

Really nice, @jameshsmitharts !! I think you really nailed the style of children's storybook's illustrations very well <3 I like the simple shapes, clean lineart and friendly character expression :) Well done !


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64275.05
ETH 3147.49
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29