I once had a crush, but this is not what you are thinking.

in #injury8 years ago (edited)


We have all had a crush at sometime in our life, but this crush happened to my arm and not to my heart.
When I was 6 I was in the kitchen one day helping my mum to wash and wring out clothing. Back then my mum had an old electric mangle that had heavy ceramic rollers that squeezed out the water so that drying your clothing was much easier.

So there I was watching with interest as my mum put an item of clothing near it, and it just seemed to grab the clothing and pull it in. I wasn't allowed to do that part as it could be dangerous.
Suddenly my mums hearing aid ran out of battery so she told me to just wait in the kitchen while she changed the battery.
But being 6 and more than a bit inquisitive I wanted to make those rollers turn too. So I stood on a chair and touched the rollers, they turned and I pulled my fingers away.
This was fun.
I did it again.
Again
Then....
This time I didn't move my fingers out the way quick enough and it started to pull my fingers through, then my hand, my wrist and then slowly it began to pull my arm in.
My screams had my dad and brother run in from the garden where they quickly shut off the power and managed to prize the rollers open with garden tools they were using.
They had stopped it just as it reached the top of my arm. I dread to think what would have happened if they had not come in so quickly.

I was rushed to hospital and xrayed, but amazingly because of my age and flexibility of my bones, I had actually not broken anything.
All i was left with was a slightly flattened arm that eventually plumped back up to normal after a little while.
This is one of my first memories and its no wonder this one stick in my mind.

Sort:  

Ouch! You were so lucky! Have you read that book Flat Stanley?

No but I bet they got the idea from me lol

ouch that sounds painful :(

So glad you didn't break anything, not a nice memory to keep a hold of though

No, a terrible memory, but its one of those storys i tell the kids now, let them know what can happen if you dont listen to your mum, like me :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.20
TRX 0.13
JST 0.029
BTC 66094.73
ETH 3446.09
USDT 1.00
SBD 2.66